Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 21 October 2012, 20:18   #1

Length: 8m +
Engine: 300HP Yam
How do you grease the steering?

Hi there,

I want to know how to grease my steering and how often it should be done?

(I know this is probably a very simply answer and I think I have answered my own questions below, but I am very new to all of this and want to double check before I go out and buy grease guns etc and try myself!)

Below is a picture of the steering on my Tohatsu engine.

I only recently noticed the two nipples on it (in the red circles) and I assume you grease the steering cable via this?

How often should you grease it? and is general purpose lithium grease ok to use?

Also I need to buy a grease gun. I found these two on ebay, will they do?...

GREASE GUN SET PISTOL GRIP WITH CARTRIDGE FLEXIBLE HOSE FOR HARD TO REACH PLACES | eBay

Hilka Greasing Gun with Flexible & Rigid Delivery Tubes & 1 85g Grease Cartridge | eBay

They have general purpose lithium grease with them and I need to also use this grease gun for my trailer too. I understand your meant to use high temp grease in the wheel bearings, but will the ebay general purpose lithium grease suffice for me? So you know my trailer is ONLY ever pushed about by hand, never driven!

Thanks for your help
Old 21 October 2012, 20:32   #2

Town: Plymouth
Length: 6m +
Hello James

Those two grease points are for the tilt, not the steering. Theres another one or two on the steering tube within the engine lower down but again they do not grease the steering cable itself. There is no way to grease the steering without removing the steering cable. We then do it with a 16mm extended drill bit to remove all of the corrosion and old grease. Sometimes this is not possible without removing the engine due to the layout of the transom.