Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 12 May 2012, 22:52   #1

Length: under 3m
How can I get my rib to plane?

Hi there

I am new to boating, recently bought a rib which is 2.7m with a 6hp short shaft 2 stroke fitted with dolefins.

It goes quite well on the plane with just me in it but with two and even three passengers it just chugs along trying to plane.

The rib is rated to a 10hp but was wondering if a slightly bigger engine or a change of prop will do the trick?

Any advice appreciated.

Thanks
Old 12 May 2012, 23:33   #2

Town: kent
Boat name: SIBotage
Make: Prowave
Length: 3m +
Engine: 15hp Johnson 2 smoke
Stick 10 horses on it!
It still may not plane with 3 though.
Old 13 May 2012, 04:11   #3

Town: Auckland
Boat name: GUN-IT
Make: Redknight
Length: 4m +
Engine: 40hp outboard
You probably need on average about 7hp per 100kg to plane, so with 3 large people you would probably need more like 20hp...
Old 13 May 2012, 09:28   #4
RIBnet Supporter

First question: Have you a RIB or a SIB? If it doesn't have a hard hull, it's a SIB. I'm guessing you have a SIB? If so, is it a Slatted deck or Airdeck? Answers on a postcard pls and we'll see what we can do for ya.
Old 13 May 2012, 10:03   #5

Town: yorkshire
Boat name: little vicky
Make: avon ex RNLI
Engine: tohatsu
Removing the doelfins will gain you a couple of knots
They may give the stern lift but you also cause drag especially with a small engine.
Old 13 May 2012, 13:41   #6

Thanks all for your replies.

Its a brig falcon 275 with a hard hull and rigid deck. I have a 1997 merc 2 stroke 6hp.

I have read mixed review about the dolesfins if anyone has good advice whether to keep the on or take off.

Thanks again
Old 13 May 2012, 16:38   #7

Town: yorkshire
Boat name: little vicky
Make: avon ex RNLI
Engine: tohatsu
Even though they can help on some craft What you have to think is doelfins were designed for much larger engines and only seem to be one standard size,