Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 24 April 2007, 09:51   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Shepperton
Boat name: Shamu
Make: BananaShark
Length: 7m +
Engine: 225 optimax
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 148
how accurate are your fuel levels

i have Mercury SmartCraft system has anyone here calibrated the fuel levels on one of these so that they're accurate and read the same as the smart guages? I know your meant to start with an empty tank and do it in stages. at the moment the fuel remaining on both are reading differently and they're also both wrong! i wouldnt mind if just one was accurate, so does anyone have any simple ideas? anyone on the south coast who'd you recommend to do this?

cheers fellas
__________________

__________________
Lewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 April 2007, 13:21   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Basingstoke
Boat name: Bubbles
Make: XS Ribs
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 100 4 Stroke
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14
Try RogueWave

He may travel down and do it for a fee. How big are the tanks and how much in em now?
__________________

__________________
philr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 April 2007, 16:05   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: llyn raider
Make: xs
Length: 7m +
Engine: 1 200hp merc
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 211
my smartcrafts are set up so that when it reads 0 theres 50l left as a reserve aparantly. bit anoying as you never quite know where your up too unless you can remeber where you were up to on your fuel used gauge and subtract that from your tankage. it should show you how to set them up in the manual.
__________________
andyxs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 April 2007, 05:36   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Shepperton
Boat name: Shamu
Make: BananaShark
Length: 7m +
Engine: 225 optimax
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by philr View Post
He may travel down and do it for a fee. How big are the tanks and how much in em now?
its just one 200ltr tank which is around three quarters full (bit less after i've been out with her tomorrow )
i guess to calibrate the smartcraft the tank will need to be completely empty.
do you think thats the sort of thing rogue wave could do?
the boats in southampton
__________________
Lewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 April 2007, 05:55   #5
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lewy View Post
its just one 200ltr tank which is around three quarters full (bit less after i've been out with her tomorrow )
i guess to calibrate the smartcraft the tank will need to be completely empty.
do you think thats the sort of thing rogue wave could do?
the boats in southampton
don't see why it needs to be empty (I don't have one so can't be sure).

Fill tank up (ideally you want some way to know you are refilling to same level each time.

Take for a reasonable trip, or trips. Refil tank to same level. Note volume of fuel required. Correct the guage accordingly.
__________________
Poly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25 April 2007, 08:28   #6
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
Correct the guage accordingly.
You can't do that with Smartcraft gauges - You have to start with it empty, press a button, and again at 1/4, 1/2 3/4 and full - the only way around that is if the tank is a regular square or rectangle, and it isn't!
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 April 2007, 10:21   #7
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee View Post
You can't do that with Smartcraft gauges - You have to start with it empty, press a button, and again at 1/4, 1/2 3/4 and full - the only way around that is if the tank is a regular square or rectangle, and it isn't!
ah - so the product name is a bit of a misnomer - there is nothing "smart" about it...
__________________
Poly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25 April 2007, 12:03   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Over here
Boat name: S.S. Nobstick
Make: Three Wise Monkeys
Length: 3m +
Engine: 44lbs of thrust....
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lewy View Post
the tank will need to be completely empty.
do you think thats the sort of thing rogue wave could do?..


I’m thinking that is definitely something Stu could do admirably…
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.…..Empty yer tank!
__________________
Jono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 April 2007, 13:28   #9
TIM
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Dublin
Boat name: WIZARD
Make: REDBAY 7.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: OPTI 225
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 417
We use the smart craft Gauges .... and think they are great .... But fuel gauges on a boat are useless and should never be trusted , as there are two many variables that will alter the contents in the tank, and how the gauge reads. our tank sender wire is disconnected .

We use the 'fuel used' counter on the smart craft system, when we put in 100L we know that we are Ok until fuel used hits hits 100L (we allow 10% for error) and them we put in another 100L etc etc ...... we write down what we put in the tank ,on a water proof slate and check before we put to sea , I wouldn't leave the harbor unless I had 50L in the tank as a safety margin .....Just in case . we carry a spare 20L on the deck , in a portable petrol tank.

We have never run out of petrol , and if you do on a boat , you should hang your head in shame!!!!!!

Also the new suziki smart gauge system only records how much you are burning at any given moment , and doesn't record fuel used !!!!!
__________________
NOT THE SHARPEST KNIFE IN THE DRAWER
TIM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 April 2007, 15:30   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: St Helier JERSEY
Boat name: Barney
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: 350 Yamaha
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 92
I agree with Tim. I've been disappointed with the fuel guages on the E-tec, giving a percentage value that fluctuates by as much as 20%. I know my burn rate, so I fill up, and work out what should be there after the passage.
__________________

__________________
FreeTrader is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.