RIBnet supporter

Town: Newcastle
Boat name: Merlin
Make: RB4 Gemini 550
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 90C
Help with buying decision

Hi all
I am new to this. I have completed my Powerboat Level 2, and currently have a Honwave 3.8 metre inflatable with a brand new Mariner 15.
she who must be obeyed has sanctioned a Rib purchase, and this is where I need some advice.
A new rib, must fit into my garage first and foremost, so beam no wider than 2.3 metres and overall length no more than 5 metres. Its a family inclusive hobby, so will be taking my wife and two boys (aged 6 and 8) out with me, so in terms of seating spec, I have to be able to accomodate 2 adults and 2 kids. It would be used for day jollies, and taken away on holiday with us on a trailer. I did my course in a 5m Humber destroyer, and have also looked enviously at Ribcraft and XS ribs.
I have £5K to spend, plus the trade in/sale value of my inflatable and new mariner - maybe another £1.5K.
I have looked at the Humber website, and seen that the SeaPro/Assault is available at 5 metres and 2 metres beam, for £3485 (dont know if this is plus vat or not) bare boat.. direct price. I could spend £2K on a second hand engine and £1K on a trailer. Could I get 4 on seats in this 5 metre?
Anyone suggest a different Rib for my cash?
Would value some constructive advice...
thanks in advance
Old 07 September 2006, 23:04   #2

Town: Southampton
Boat name: DynaMoHumm/ SRV/deja
Make: Avon8.4, 5.4 & 4.777
Length: 8m +
Engine: Cat3126 Yam 90 &70
MMSI: 42
Do You Want New AND CAN YOU STRETCH TO 5,2 METRES
Rogue Wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 September 2006, 23:19   #3

Town: cornwall
Boat name: nothing
Make: rib eye 430
Engine: tatsu 50
MMSI: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by MustRib
Hi all
I am new to this. I have completed my Powerboat Level 2, and currently have a Honwave 3.8 metre inflatable with a brand new Mariner 15.
she who must be obeyed has sanctioned a Rib purchase, and this is where I need some advice.