Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 19 July 2004, 14:05   #1

Town: Binfield
Boat name: merlinless now
Length: no boat
Hard standing and buying a new boat

As i have just joined, very simply i love ribs and i am an advanced Instructor but have the following questions

I live in Reading and as such want to find a good spot to hard stand my boat, to that end i initially decided on Northney Marina as i do lots of teaching there and thats where i did my cruising yachtmaster exams from. Anyway there is a waiting list so I'm trying to find a good place to store my boat with a slip and facilities (e.g a marina). Any ideas that are close, i looked at hamble point but its 25 quid each way on the slip. This really is preventing me from getting a bigger boat at the moment. e.g i dont want to spend half the day just travelling

Secondly, i quite like the scorpions (as most people do), but i also quite like the following, but have heard some horrow stories, so what the real SP on the boats below

1) Camel Ribs 655
2) Those Ballistic -trans agular (something like that)
Old 19 July 2004, 14:45   #2

Town: Port Solent
Boat name: Wild Thing
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Honda 150 Vtec
MMSI: 235016672
Ribtec 655

Hi Jimbob,

Owned since new a Ribtec 6.55, great rib, very safe in heavy seas, good build quality. Fitted with Honda 130 but will be upgrading to the new Honda 150 Vtec in the very near future. With the 130, getting 37/38 knots, two up and about 150 ltrs of fuel on board, expecting 42/44 knots with new engine.

This is not an ex Camel rib, they are quite a bit heavier with all the extra gear they had but I am told their hull was slightly beefed up.

The only reason I am updating the engine is that the original engine came with a 5 year warranty, it has 18 months left and I was offered a great deal on a new 150 and a good pex on the 130 plus a new 5 year warranty.

Peter White has a lot of good things to say about the Ribtec hull.