Old 11 May 2014, 07:20   #1

Town: Belper
Boat name: Ey up mi duck
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Guernsey trip

Can you guys give me any tips on the channel isles. We are getting the ferry over on Thursday and will be mooring in St. Peter port on guernsey . Have done a few launches now with help from some of you but still relatively inexperienced . If weather and conditions are good would like to do some pottering around from guernsey . Not tried a beech land yet is there somewhere easy to practice and suitable to have a beer and BBQ on !!
Old 11 May 2014, 08:08   #2

Town: Exeter
Make: Highfield
Length: 5m +
Engine: Honda BF90
Hi Stevedonna
You have chosen a good time to go - high pressure will be moving in from Tuesday. What time are you arriving? I am working in the CI's later this week, and will be in St Peter Port until 3pm Thursday.
Lots of great places to visit around Guernsey and the Harbour/Marina is really well sheltered. I am no expert, but please read up a bit, as there a lots of underwater rocks etc - I suggest you buy and study a chart before heading out. I am sure somebody will be able to offer better advice than that though.

Try this link as a start for boating in Guernsey; it includes a downloadable map of the harbour etc.

http://www.guernseyharbours.gov.gg/a...inas--Moorings
Old 11 May 2014, 08:19   #3

Town: Jersey
Boat name: Archangel
Length: 6m +
Engine: ETec 225
MMSI: 235063789
Fermain Bay just south of St. Peter Port is a very pleasant spot; you can anchor and swim/paddle ashore where there's a nice cafe. You could always go to Herm as well.
Fermain Beach Cafe Restaurant Reviews, St Peter Port, United Kingdom - TripAdvisor
Old 11 May 2014, 08:27   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exe treme View Post
Hi Stevedonna
You have chosen a good time to go - high pressure will be moving in from Tuesday. What time are you arriving? I am working in the CI's later this week, and will be in St Peter Port until 3pm Thursday.