Old 24 January 2005, 16:02   #1

Town: Tandragee
Boat name: Cuchulainn
Make: Predator
Length: 7m +
Engine: Inboard diesel
Grab rope for rib

Can anyone advise on how to replace grab ropes to existing tube canvas type hoops, would really appreciat some feedback on this, maybe recomend a suitable web site that shows how to do this etc.

Seamus
Old 24 January 2005, 20:29   #2

Length: 5m +
MMSI: Nope
replied in error
Old 25 January 2005, 08:14   #3

Town: Saltash, Cornwall
Make: Rib less:-(
Length: no boat
Hi Seamus
I'm no expert on this but have considered it myself as an issue.
Firstly I have seen two distinct varieties - taught or loopy ropes.
For a taught rope system I would eye spliced one end on treaded it through to the other end and marked on the rope where the middle of the last eye splice should be. Then this is the bit I'm guessing on you deflate the tube section to get you some slack in the tube so you can work on the splice easily, put in the eye splice and pump up the tube - if you have got the rope length correct it will end up taught but not pulling on the tube. As an after thought some ropes contract after the get wet for the first time and other materials stretch - bit like the webbing cam bands on air tank straps.