Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 28 February 2014, 01:24   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Darwin
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150hp Yamaha
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 382
RIBase
GoPro suction cup mount!

There was a thread on the forum talking about a GoPro suction mount available on Amazon. I can't find the original post now, but based on the post I ordered 2. They will be going back! The first one when I came to mount it on the rib console the lever used to secure the suction cup snapped off and the whole unit fell apart. Thankfully I had not attached the camera to the unit because in all honesty it looked to badly made to risk it. Just as well I didn't!

I have the actual GoPro suction unit, and yes it is not cheap, but it does the job and even in rough conditions holds on. The unit of Amazon is cheap and nasty.
__________________

__________________
http://www.5starmarine.co.uk
Solent Ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 February 2014, 01:48   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
nugent's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bromsgrove
Boat name: Kick-Ass !
Make: PAC/Artic 22
Length: 6m +
Engine: 250hp Yamaha
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,385
I use both of these with no poblems to date

GoPro Monopod Ski Pole Handle w/ Tripod Mount For Hero HD 2, 3 Go Pro Telescopic | eBay

Sport Action Camera Suction Cup Mount Bracket Go Pro Hero RD32 RD60 | eBay
__________________

MY BIGGEST WORRY IS THAT MY WIFE(WHEN I"M DEAD)WILL SELL MY TOY'S FOR WHAT I SAID I PAID FOR THEM.
nugent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 February 2014, 04:58   #3
Member
 
Ovey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
RIBase
I bought a tripod mount to provide a standard screw thread on the bottom of the GoPro housing and a Gorillapod which attaches to it and then wraps around the handrail on my console or the A-frame or wherever. Alternatives worth considering.
__________________
Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 February 2014, 06:16   #4
Member
 
gohelm's Avatar
 
Country: Netherlands
Town: Goudswaard
Boat name: mr D
Make: Deltapower
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha f300 BETU
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 233
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ovey View Post
I bought a tripod mount to provide a standard screw thread on the bottom of the GoPro housing and a Gorillapod which attaches to it and then wraps around the handrail on my console or the A-frame or wherever. Alternatives worth considering.
actually using the same system (tripod mount) but on a stainless steel 1/4 inch thread on the front of the a-frame of the boat...I am always afraid loosing the gopro (and noticing it only a couple of miles later) , but this seems to work very good until now, lesser parts lesser things which can come loose. I noticed that the standard gopro stuff isnt reacting so well to seawater by the way and the ebay stuff must be worse(?)...or..

@ nugent : this telescoping monopole thingy, thanks, that is a good one!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	gopro mount.jpg
Views:	223
Size:	79.9 KB
ID:	91596  
__________________
gohelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 February 2014, 06:22   #5
Member
 
Ovey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by gohelm View Post
I noticed that the standard gopro stuff isnt reacting so well to seawater by the way and the ebay stuff must be worse(?)...or..
To be fair, I've only had it out once and I then washed it in fresh water before drying, so I haven't noticed anything bad happen with it yet. but there's time.........
__________________
Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 February 2014, 12:19   #6
Member
 
tony t's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: west mids /tywyn
Boat name: HAWK
Make: RIBCRAFT/ Suzuki 250
Length: 7m +
Engine: Tohatsu 3.8/15hpsuzi
MMSI: 235086594
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,284

I personally wouldn't trust anything that sucks
__________________
When you get to the end of your rope..tie a knot and hang on..!!
Aberdovey Ribs
B.I.O.C.Member
B.S. LEADER
tony t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 February 2014, 12:30   #7
CJL
Member
 
CJL's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Make: Ribcrafts
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150hp/2x115hp
MMSI: 235090215
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,115
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to CJL
I went with the Sony Action Cam and the glue on the bottom of the bracket is amazing. It's been some pretty heavy weather immediately after it was attached and held firm.

Plus the Sony Action Cam uses the regular camera mounts so you get a better choice of attachments!

Chris
__________________
www.northernexposurerescue.org.uk
A registered charity supporting events across England and Wales
Follow us on Vimeo and Facebook
CJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 February 2014, 12:55   #8
RIBnet supporter
 
mick's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wakefield
Boat name: Bouncer
Make: Redbay Stormforce
Length: 6m +
Engine: 2x Honda 90Hp
MMSI: 235025718
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,984
I always go for RAM mounts take some beating
__________________
mick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 March 2014, 04:47   #9
RIBnet supporter
 
Brian's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Isle of Man
Town: Peel, IOM
Length: no boat
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,277
RIBase
I found that the GoPro and the e-bay ones are far to short for my liking. They only extend to 48" or so.

I made my own (you can find simple instructions on YouTube). It is a basic 42" and extends to 80". And with absolutely standard GoPro fittings (no sticky pads or suction cups!!!) it is a further 5" long.
Cost? Zero because I had all the bits I needed lying around.

This enables me to film above, at the side of, and even under the bow. You can also remotely watch what you are filming on an ipad via a Bluetooth link.

Now comes the interesting bit. You CAN film underwater. However the Bluetooth link is lost if you go deeper than about a foot-but you can pop the chip into a laptop and look at the film. You then put the chip back in the camera to film any vital bits you missed or want to look in more detail at.
You also should not film when underway because the strain of the current on your camera and on your arms is too much. This results in very shaky film.
This process is dead useful for looking at your prop, holes in the bottom of your boat (ahem!) or tiller movement on yachts etc. Or in my case I film seals swimming amongst the kelp.
When waving this device about in the marina you will find immediate friends amongst various curious yachties!
Beats taking your boat out of the water.
__________________
Brian

"Ribbing-the most expensive way of travelling third class"
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 March 2014, 06:30   #10
Member
 
simon23's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: liverpool
Make: tohatsu6.1 one desig
Length: 6m +
Engine: mariner 125hp
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 357
Don't know if it's a good deal or Not. Costco have a go pro bundle for under 230.not sure if it's a good price or not, I'm not interested in one but I know some on here like them
__________________

__________________
simon23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.