Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 06 December 2010, 09:25   #1
Member
 
Country: France
Town: Nantes
Boat name: A l'Attaque
Make: Sea-Way
Length: 6m +
Engine: Not here yet
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 455
Fraudulent outboard seller

On B&O at the moment there is a company selling what look like great outboards at great prices. Here is thier website: http://www.aquasportclass.co.cc/

Dodgy as hell, stay clear
Pablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2010, 10:10   #2
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Belfast
Boat name: Cait
Make: Humber
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp Opti
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
On B&O at the moment there is a company selling what look like great outboards at great prices. Here is thier website: http://www.aquasportclass.co.cc/

Dodgy as hell, stay clear
They do seem to be at the address they say they are at ......
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sports.jpg
Views:	250
Size:	58.1 KB
ID:	55979  
__________________
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club
tonymac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2010, 10:23   #3
Member
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: 2 x 115 Etecs
MMSI: 235060745
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,285
£3500 for a brand new (all be it 2007) 150 Etec with 3 years warranty, hmmm sounds too good to be true, so it probably is. I'd happily stand corrected though.
__________________
ee lad tha' can't educate pork, but you can slow roast it.
S.A.B.S. Stormtrooper
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2010, 10:24   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,603
Same postal address but the web address on that sign is for a different company

http://www.aquasports.co.uk/contact/contact.html
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2010, 10:29   #5
RIBnet admin team
 
Polwart's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Linlithgow
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonymac View Post
They do seem to be at the address they say they are at ......
I suspect the people in the sign are just another unfortunate victim in the scam!

(1) the sites T&Cs describe the company as Aqua Sport Class Ltd - there is no such company on the UK company register.

(2) The domain name aquasports.co.uk (as per the sign) is legitiamitely registered to Aqua Sports Company Ltd at the correct address. Although the site appears to be down.

(3) aquasportclass.co.cc domain appears to be registered to:

Name : JONG SUNG, KIM
Email :
Address : 864-2, JANGHANGDONG, ILSAN, GOYANG,GYEOUNGGI
Zipcode : 410837
Nation :
Tel : +82.319196171
Fax : +82.319196150

(4) I don't think I've ever seen a legit british business using a .co.cc address; and certainly not on B&O


(Edit: I've emailed the UK company)
Polwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2010, 11:37   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,293
You'd think if someone was going to do some dodgy selling scam, they'd at least bother to opt out of the 'whois' listing to keep their details off the public domain.

Though on second thoughts, I suppose it's doubtful anyone's going to pop down to Janghangdong (wherever that is) to sort him out with a bus load of 'special' friends when they get scammed.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2010, 12:00   #7
Member
 
Country: France
Town: Nantes
Boat name: A l'Attaque
Make: Sea-Way
Length: 6m +
Engine: Not here yet
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 455
I phoned Aqua Sports.co.uk who are a legitimate company thoroughly annoyed, they've been to the police.

The aquasportsclass.co.cc advertise on B&O but don't put the company name down. They reply to emails and suggest you order directly from there website. Delivery within 5 days ... of course.
Pablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2010, 12:37   #8
Member
 
boristhebold's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Planet Earth
Boat name: Don't remember
Make: cobra 7.5
Length: 7m +
Engine: One of them
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 444
I expect the information on the domain site is bogus, fraudsters often get information from other victims to use. Last year I had my debit card details stolen and goods were ordered using it. Through some detective work I found my details were stolen from a legitimate business where I had ordered some corrosion treatment for my boat, the website of that business was hacked and many peoples card details were then sold on. The person ordering goods used a website to bounce the emails off of which was registered infact to one of their victims.
boristhebold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2010, 15:09   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: horsham
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
aquasport class is fraud don't use them

We are The Aqua Sports Company Ltd - a watersports centre that is legitimately based at Mercers Park.

We have nothing to do with Aquasport class ltd and we are doing everything we can to get them shut down.

The have taken a name that is similar to ours and used our mailing address (apart from the postcode which has been altered slightly). We have reported to the police and the fraud department of companies house.

Please be assured that aquasport class is NOT anything to do with the Aqua Sports Company.

Sam Smithson

Director
Sam Smithson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2010, 16:06   #10
RIBnet supporter
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,603
Welcome to the forum and good luck with getting these people shut down, life's hard enough without having to dodge around people like this
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:08.


RIB News Delivered to your Email!

Stay up-to-date with RIB news in your inbox!

unsusbcribe at anytime with one click

Close [X]