Old 26 May 2009, 07:46   #1

Town: Plymouth
Make: Avon SR4,AX500
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yam 50 2 Stroke
Flow Coating Deck

Hi guys,

Due to work commitments and a relationship breakdown, the girl (SR4) has been neglected and therefore i need to get the ball rolling again.

I really want to flow coat the deck but also have reservations in case i don't get it right as i have never done before.

I have sanded the deck down and got all the bits and pieces so all ready to go.

1. I take it i only need to apply one coat with a medium pile roller to achieve a rough finish?

2. I was also told by a chap at CFS to add some fine play sand so how much sand do i need to add?

3. I have two x 1kg tins of flow coat will this be enough to do the sides, transom and about 1/3 of deck area?

Any advice really appreciated.

Thanks
Old 26 May 2009, 10:02   #2

Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Have you thought about deck paint instead? 3/4 l tin will do the job easily and give an excellent non slip sureface that is kind to walk on in bare feet, which rough flow coat won't. The other advantage is it is easy to touch up at the end of the year as the colour doesn't change with age.

Pete
Old 26 May 2009, 15:17   #3

Town: Colchester/Clevedon
Boat name: Barracuda
Make: Porters
Length: 5m +
Engine: Tohatsu 50hp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete7 View Post
Have you thought about deck paint instead?

Pete
I've just re-done the deck on my 5m with Interdeck. Just mask up the area you want to paint, whack down one coat (one coat seems to be enough) and it'll be dry by the next day. Looks fantastic and, as Pete says, I used about 3/4 of a £16 can so can easily touch it up at the end of the season if need be
Old 26 May 2009, 16:45   #4

Town: Moray Firth
Boat name: Lochran
Make: Northcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Honda BF90 4/