Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 21 October 2003, 19:33   #71
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,850
Seb, no don't worry. The decks are 3/8" ply as standard and not a structural item so they do flex. They are held in place by thousands of screws that you can see. Perfectly normal on these boats.

Pete
__________________

__________________
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 October 2003, 03:46   #72
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: SOUTHAMPTON
Boat name: Won't get Fooled Again
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6.5
Engine: Honda 130
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 888
Quote:
Originally posted by Pete7
They are held in place by thousands of screws that you can see. Perfectly normal on these boats.

Pete
what I had to take out! when Pete replaced the deck he covered the new piece of wood on both sides with a sheathing of GRP. This was a really clever thing to do as it updated the look of the boat by about 10 years
__________________

__________________
I need a little bit of Rhythym and a little bit of Blues
thewavehumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 October 2003, 13:13   #73
Seb
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Make: Humber
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 50
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 237
P22 deck

Cheers for that! I had visions of a slowly rotting deck and one day jumping on it and disapperaing into the hull!

Will also allow me to get some sleep at night- no more nightmares about having to renew the whole surface!

Cheers again,

SEB
__________________
Seb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2003, 10:58   #74
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,850
Seb just keep an eye on the deck at the back. JW has done a number of these ribs and they do go soft there after a while. Also do you have the standard round hatch above the prop in the rear deck ? if so this piece is susceptable. Mine has been replaced with that Al chequer plate (4 x 3')which is much stronger.

Pete
__________________
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 October 2003, 03:33   #75
Seb
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Make: Humber
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 50
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 237
P22 chat

Yeah, i do have the standard round hatch at the stern. This is on its way out though i think- its particuarly flexible so i guess that its quite damp.

Ali check plate sound like a good plan. Probably looks smarter too!

Cheers for the idea.




Having the new a-frame delivered today. Could anyone give me a pointer as to how you go about connecting the 2 neutral and live power cables to the wiring from the 4 nav lights- im no sparky!

Cheers

SEB
__________________
Seb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 October 2003, 04:34   #76
DGR
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Barmouth
Boat name: Blue Marlin
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yanmar 315/Bravo 2X
MMSI: 235020218
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 827
Coding

Seb,

Could you post the link on the MCA site for the coding stuff that you mentioned? I've been looking for the info and can't find it on the site (probably me being thick!! )

I believe that there is a big difference in requirements between Cat 5 and Cat 4, and as I'm only really interested in Cat 5 at the moment, I'm trying to work out what the differences actually are!!

Cheers,

Dylan...
__________________
DGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 October 2003, 11:27   #77
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,850
Dylan,

The latest newsletter from the MCA is at:

http://www.mcga.gov.uk/c4mca/mcga_dq...news_oct03.pdf

However the MCA is playing around with their web site at the moment so the main site is at:

http://www.mcga.gov.uk/c4mca/mcga-home

The big difference in coding is between 3 and 4. Difference between 4 and 5 wasn't much so I went straight for 4. Interestingly the MCA have just bought 3 ribs from Halmatic to Code 3. Code 3 is supposed to have shelter for the crew from the elements which the open ribs haven't. Looks like they are foul of there own rules. Quite a good web site worth having a good look around.

Pete
__________________
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 October 2003, 12:15   #78
DGR
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Barmouth
Boat name: Blue Marlin
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yanmar 315/Bravo 2X
MMSI: 235020218
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 827
Thanks Pete7.

Good website - much easier than last time I tried the MCA site!! Looks like I'll just have to get the Yellow Code Book.

Cheers,

Dylan...
__________________
DGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 October 2003, 12:39   #79
Seb
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Make: Humber
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 50
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 237
Help please!

Im in the process of replacing the engine gauges on my rib and am having trouble with the ammeter....

The old ammeter was a VDO blue line but this is now discontinued so i have bought the latest equivalent- VDO ocean line ammeter.

However, the connections for this are different. Existing feeds are chunky positive and negative cables only and the new one requires this as well as 2 other feeds labelled 1 and 2 whose purpose i do not know (instructions are useless!)

Has anyone else done anything like this and had this problem and if so, how is it overcome?

Cheers
__________________
Seb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 October 2003, 13:45   #80
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cippenham
Boat name: Falcon1
Make: Falcon
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115hp Mariner Four S
MMSI: 235021077
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 508
I have just looked at the instructions on the net. term 1 and 2 connect to the shunt the + and- connect to the battery neg and to the alternator. the gauge shows charge and discharge.
the shunt is in line with the load. (the gauge would burn out if the load was connected across it). i assume you have got a shunt with it? if you are not sure what you are doing i would seek help as you could cause damage or even a fire if you connect it incorrectly. good luck.
__________________

__________________
chrisallse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.