Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 23 April 2013, 02:58   #11
Member
 
Country: France
Town: Ile de Re
Boat name: Re lax
Make: Piranha 6m
Length: 6m +
Engine: Evinrude 90 hp ETEC
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 148
RIBase
Just ordered one off eBay. Did the same for our sail boat about 3 years ago and needed to get the meter to the current engine hours which was 1300 hours so left it connected to a battery but unfortunately overshot the number of hours anyway solution is another story.

I only really want the hour metre to work out fuel running costs.

My other issue is the fuel gauge is constantly showing full which is hopeless. Need to work out if it is the sender or the gauge.

Anyone any suggestions how I can test each part?
__________________

__________________
nigel52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 April 2013, 08:26   #12
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,590
RIBase
Back to my original question re: I-command, your engine is nmea2000 compatible & will show all the info that you want, including fuel consumption, fuel remaining, engine hours etc. you can display this either via I-command gauges or by connecting to a N2k plotter. Much more elegant than adding gauges for this that & the other.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 April 2013, 10:09   #13
Member
 
Country: France
Town: Ile de Re
Boat name: Re lax
Make: Piranha 6m
Length: 6m +
Engine: Evinrude 90 hp ETEC
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 148
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
Back to my original question re: I-command, your engine is nmea2000 compatible & will show all the info that you want, including fuel consumption, fuel remaining, engine hours etc. you can display this either via I-command gauges or by connecting to a N2k plotter. Much more elegant than adding gauges for this that & the other.
Thanks - looks like I will look at that route and connect up to my Lowrance GPS plotter.
__________________

__________________
nigel52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.