Old 05 January 2016, 12:35   #1

Town: Newport
Boat name: Red Scorpion
Make: Scorpion
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard/petrol/200
Drain plug

Forgive the silly question, but I am still learning.

So…… under the back seat on my scorpion is a small circular inspection hatch, on opening this I noticed that there was an amount of water in the hull (too much to ignore).

Now that the rib has now been lifted for the winter (as I will attempt a few jobs, which I am excited about). I have noticed that on the stern of the boat there are the usual drain holes (port and starboard), but lower in the hull is a small threaded brass drain (I assume) missing a plug.

Would someone be able to tell me firstly, why one is needed and secondly are the plugs a standard dimension?
Old 05 January 2016, 12:56   #2

Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Brass Garboard Drain - C-Quip
Old 05 January 2016, 14:25   #3

Length: 6m +
The boat yard may have taken the bung out for you and put it somewhere safe. If they havent I'm not surprised you had more water then you want under the deck
Old 05 January 2016, 15:03   #4

Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Agree with Stuart; there's more than one hard boat that ended up underwater due to a missing drain plug (unlikely with a RIB due to the tubes.)

jky
Old 05 January 2016, 16:16   #5
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Scorpion View Post
Would someone be able to tell me firstly, why one is needed
It is common to fit a drain bung low on the hull so that any water which does find its way into the hull void can be removed. Some manufacturers are so confident about their water tight integrity that they don't bother - its not uncommon for owners of those boats to post here "I've got water under the deck and no way to get it out" !!!