Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 18 August 2004, 17:37   #1

Town: Dartmouth
Boat name: ribmark
Make: tornado
Length: no boat
Engine: 300hp yanmar
design q's about a cat rib with water jets...

Hi looking to push the evenvelope in rib design.

Thinking about a 10-12 metre rib made out of aluminum,
looking at a cataraman design to aid shallow access.
looking at a pair of yanmar 375's connected to water jets
am i mad what combinations have you tried. whats the view on water jets.
need to seat to 12-16.
any info very welcome.
possibly a semi cabin.....

thanks in advance
James
Old 18 August 2004, 19:23   #2

Town: I.O.W/Switzerland
Boat name: HotShot
Make: shakey
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp Tohatsu TLDI
James,

I'm no expert, but I am very interested in powerboat and RIB design. What I'm about to say, you probably know anyway but I'll say it anyway!

Water jets I believe are not as efficient as propellers but do have some very significant advantages. Obviously safety and shallow water capabilities but also turning circle and stopping distances are much lower than with a prop. However, if your engine cuts out at full wack then you loose your steering with a jet, for obvious reasons.

With a catamaran design you will obviously get loads of deck space, but will you see much of an improvement with regards to shallow water access (i assume that is what you mean by "shallow access")?

I also believe acatamaran boats can be faster than monohulls because they tend to act like a wing creating lift and reducing the wetted hull area (therefore less skin friction). A zapcat (and I would assume a larger Cat) works by a principle of air being forced between the deck and the water creating high pressure which lifts the boat out of the water.

Grip in the corners would probably be superior to a monohull too, but again I'm no expert. I think Adam Younger would be the person to talk to on this forum.