Old 05 October 2012, 17:26   #1

Make: Valiant
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard 60hp
Deflated tube (Valiant Rib)

Hello all

Im new to this forum but would appreciate some advice.

I have a Valiant 4.9DR which i have owned for about seven years, it was a year old when i bought it.

It has always given me good service and i have always looked after it well.

A few weeks ago the starboard side rear tube deflated without warning whilst the rib was stored on my drive. I pumped it back up and looked for a leak with soapy water. There were several areas where small bubbles were coming from.

The bubbles were all arising from out of the black rubbing strip down the side of the rib. As i am no expert in this field i took the boat down to the Valiant agents where i origionally purchsed it from.

Having de-glued and pulled back a section of rubbing strip about 12 inches long what they have found is that a section of the tube seam under the rubbing strip, which was supposed to be "hot welded", is completely clean and has obviously never been stuck together.

It appears that the only thing holding the tube together in that particular area has been the glued on rubbing strip on the outside.

The Valiant agent has stopped the investigating at that point whilst we consider the options.

Has anyone heard of this before.

The agent has sumised that as the seam is hot welded under rollers that perhaps the rollers werent hot enough or perhaps at the time of welding the tube was contaminated with something that prevented a succesful weld.

As we havent done any further investigation we dont know wether there are any further affected areas so far undetected.

Any advice greatly received

Toothy
Old 29 October 2012, 15:00   #2

Town: North Fambridge
Boat name: TX-760
Make: Vanguard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toothy View Post
Hello all

Im new to this forum but would appreciate some advice.