Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 06 June 2017, 07:24   #1
Member
 
Nordburg2001's Avatar
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Make: Northcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki V4 100
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 222
Connecting humminbird helix 5 to lowrance link 5

On to my next dilemma! One for the technical gurus....
My lead came in the post on the day we were leaving for the iom, on digesting the wiring diagram it looked to only use 1 wire to connect both together, they did mention lives and earths to to power the radio but as both gps and vhf already have their own power supply I didn't connect them, however the units didn't communicate with each other, I had no time to look any further as we had to leave!! Have any of you guys had similar problems or know how to wire these things?? Thanks in advance, Tim.
__________________

__________________
Sometimes a little knowledge is worse than none at all....
Nordburg2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2017, 12:32   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 204
I don't know the units you are connecting but....

It definitely requires two wires for one way comms and minimum of 3 sometimes 4 for two way. My guess is you have connected the positive send or return. If you can post a photograph of the wiring for both units (or a link?) I may be able to help more.
__________________

__________________
j.i.wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2017, 12:43   #3
Member
 
Nordburg2001's Avatar
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Make: Northcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki V4 100
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 222
Will post a few pics when home from work, cheers
__________________
Sometimes a little knowledge is worse than none at all....
Nordburg2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2017, 13:19   #4
Member
 
Bern Hanreck's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Norfolk/Suffolk Borders
Make: no boat
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 818
Have to disagree with J.I.W | I don't know these units either but if both are powered from the same supply ( with a common Gnd [ or 0 Volts ] ) they may well only require a nmea out from the gps/chartplotter to the nmea in on the radio/receiver .

ie only one wire !

I suspect you have to set up other parameters ( eg an output port on the gps )
__________________
Bern Hanreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2017, 16:06   #5
Member
 
Nordburg2001's Avatar
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Make: Northcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki V4 100
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 222
Will post a few pics when home from work, cheers
__________________
Sometimes a little knowledge is worse than none at all....
Nordburg2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2017, 16:50   #6
Member
 
Nordburg2001's Avatar
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Make: Northcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki V4 100
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 222
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6925.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	131.5 KB
ID:	119883Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6926.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	147.6 KB
ID:	119884Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6927.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	107.9 KB
ID:	119885Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6928.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	122.9 KB
ID:	119886Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6929.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	93.8 KB
ID:	119887
__________________

__________________
Sometimes a little knowledge is worse than none at all....
Nordburg2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.