Old 04 March 2006, 08:15   #1

Town: Poole
Boat name: Ouba of the Camber
Make: Cobra
Length: 8m +
Engine: Inboard diesel 315hp
CobrarescuedbyRNLI

Hi all,
I'm new to owning a rib, boughta Cobra 8.5m last year. I had some experience of both sail and motorboats but not much. I completed the ICC late last year. Keen to use my rib, despite the weather I have been out about 5 times this winter with various problems with the boat - no reverse gear on return trip 1, no bilge pumps in force 6, no sterring b4 we got out, had all fixed and went out last week from Poole to Yarmouth. It was force 5/6 easterly and fought all the way into wind to Yarmouth. A few big splashes, making about 15knts, all in all good, but cold, fun. The water was trick at Hurst castle but boat handled ok. Set out on return been going about 5mins, following seas, much more pleasant, surfing waves 18-20knts then instead of climbing the next wave I can only assume I went through it, saw the begining of it, throttled up a little, next thing all is green, when cleared windscreen broken and boat completely full of water. Neither or passenger injured (couple of bumps from screen I think). Engine still going, all 3 pumps emptying boat so thought going to be Ok, kept going at about 6knts till engine stopped. Opened engine bay to discover half full of water including over batteries. At point called coastguard. Many thanks to the boat that stood by from Lyington and the fantastic RNLI from Yarmouth who collected us and the boat. I have some questions about insurance got boat startd next day changing wet electrics but won't start now, but my real question is how could I have avoided this- the RNLI tought I had been unlucky, whcih made me feel worse, it was very unpleasant. Also, would have been ok if engine bay hadn't filled up, surely that shouldn't happen. Going to fill boat with water (on land) to see how it gets in to bay. Plese constructive help, we all started out one day