Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 09 October 2011, 03:58   #1
Member
 
gtflash's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Boat name: TOP CAT 2
Make: Scorpion 8.1
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250hp HO
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,318
Closed bow

Anyone ever thought of fitting a closed bow deck to their rib?? Or done it. There's got to be a better use of all that space up front than storing fresh air!!
__________________

__________________
gtflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 October 2011, 04:18   #2
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Rosas
Boat name: Conqueror
Make: Valiant
Length: 7m +
Engine: Outboard 150hp Merc
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 541
Send a message via Skype™ to Courageous
Do you mean like a hard nosed osprey?
__________________

__________________
Courageous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 October 2011, 05:07   #3
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,928
RIBase
Before you do it, ask yourself what you want it for. I mean that for storing other than fresh air, you'll have a huge space right at the bow, ideal for stuffing with crap that will weigh the nose down. Of course, having mentioned stuffing, a good deck will be a real asset if you do stuff.

Redbay went down this road years ago, incorporating a fairly modest tube height bow locker with a decked top. They proved popular and were fitted on lots of open and wraparound boats. Someone finally requested one to be extended back to meet the front of the console, as the little deck there was fairly pointless and looked like a wave catcher. At this point the boat had a full enclosed deck forward of the console/wraparound, accessed via the console hatch or a deck hatch. And around then someone said, hey, we should streamline all this.....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Graineuaile.jpg
Views:	215
Size:	69.2 KB
ID:	63109  
__________________
willk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09 October 2011, 05:47   #4
Member
 
gtflash's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Boat name: TOP CAT 2
Make: Scorpion 8.1
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250hp HO
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,318
The boat has over 5m of open space. It's kinda pointless, when I have limited storage space. It could be a great crawl in cuddy or dry storage. She will carry the weight, as an ex racer there is a bow ballast tank under deck over 4m long by the width of the boat. (hence my lack of storage).
__________________
gtflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 October 2011, 07:16   #5
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
I've done it. I filled Neil Harvey front in on his rib. It just happened to be with a full cabin

sent from a remote device
__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 October 2011, 07:29   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: lendalfoot
Boat name: eileen
Make: flatacraft force 4
Length: 3m +
Engine: yet to come
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
Have you not seen an old FLATACRAFT FORCE 4. Look at Nasher's pictures of the very model. haevy duty velcro holds it in place to cover a good sized fuel tank PLUS. Some can advise that it has worked well for 40 years. oldun
__________________
Oldun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 October 2011, 08:48   #7
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
Just look at the old sr4/5m I think what they did with the dash , dodger and seats were a stroke of genius

sent from a remote device
__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 October 2011, 15:10   #8
Member
 
gtflash's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Boat name: TOP CAT 2
Make: Scorpion 8.1
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250hp HO
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by biffer View Post
I've done it. I filled Neil Harvey front in on his rib. It just happened to be with a full cabin

sent from a remote device
Biffer, how much does the cabin weigh? Approx? I wonder if it could be cut into my racing console
__________________
gtflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 October 2011, 15:29   #9
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
You could make it very light with foam etc. Probaly 100/150 kgs. If you're going to keep your console you wouldn't need the full monty

sent from a remote device
__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 October 2011, 03:28   #10
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Here you go .........
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TQ small 2.jpg
Views:	242
Size:	60.1 KB
ID:	63114  
__________________

__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.