Old 29 June 2010, 02:32   #1

Town: Milton
Boat name: Sanford 6M
Make: Avon
Length: 6m +
Engine: TBD - Outboard
Can anyone identify this RIB?

Hello,

I'm new to the sight, but love all the good information. I recently bought the attached with hopes of bringing it back to life, but have a couple key questions before I start cutting holes to install a fuel tank below deck.

First, a little about the boat. It was advertised as a 1994 (era) Avon 6.0 SeaRider. The boat measures about 17' from stem to stern, and 6'2" in the beam at it's widest. It apparently had twin engines, but I plan to install a single engine, when I get to that point.

Below are some questions: Any information would be greatly appreciated.

1. What is the purpose of the opening (about 4" in diameter) in the stern (center line, down towards the bottom of the hull - not the 2 4" holes for deck draining). It appears to be a tube that runs towards the bow, but I have no idea. Is there something that plugs it, or does it serve a useful technical purpose?

2. When I was cleaning out the bilge, which was very dirty, I noticed that the water really didn't drain. I did notice some .25" holes in various places in the hull, and at one point, there was some water draining out. Was the boat made with these holes, or was this something done, for whatever reason, after the fact? Does the boat use water for "ballast"? Can the holes be plugged, and drain plugs installed in the stern? The reason I'm asking, is that I would like to install an aluminum tank below the deck, but I'm not sure what to think about what is going on below deck.

3. Do I have what I think I have? or is this another model? Also, will a 150hp motor be appropriate for this boat?

4. Finally, what is the affect on handling if I shift the center Console towards the center of the boat, as opposed to towards the bow, as I believe it was originally.

Photos are on this website: http://gallery.me.com/milton.leimkuehlers#100148