Old 24 July 2014, 20:49   #1

Town: Amsterdam
Boat name: Lol
Make: Brig
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 100
Brig 570 cracked transom

hi all,

I am new to ribbing and to his forum. I know the subject of cracked transoms are tackled somewhere, but I can't find them.

I have a question some more experienced members may be able to help me with.

I bought a 2012 brig 570 from a brig dealer in the Netherlands 2 months ago. Boat is equipped with yamaha f100, well below maximum rec. power.

All of a sudden cracks appear on port and starboard transom, upside. Wind was only 2 bft, limited waves. If I move the engine up and down by hand the cracks become wider and visibly flex.

Does anybody have any experience with this? Is this as serious as it looks? Can the boat + engine still be transported on a trailer (need to drive 1000km home from vacation).

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Thx.

Albert
Old 24 July 2014, 20:52   #2

Town: Castlebar
Boat name: Clewless
Make: Valiant DR 490
Length: 4m +
Engine: 60 hp ETEC
MMSI: Awaitng one
RIBase
photo will be needed to get a proper answer
Old 24 July 2014, 20:56   #3

Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Are they structural cracks (i.e. into the structural material the transom is built up out of), or spider cracks in the gel coat?

The former would be a problem, the latter not so much.

jky
Old 24 July 2014, 21:17   #4

Thx for reactions

Thx for your replies.
I did add pictures, but apparently they don't show. I will add them again tomorrow.

I think the cracks are structural: moving the engine makes them wider, looks pretty structural to me....?

Albert
Old 24 July 2014, 21:30   #5

Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
RIBase
Sounds terminal to me, money back time, take it back to the dealer.
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:Don't feed the troll
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote