Click Here to Login

Old 02 January 2017, 06:09   #1

Town: Alaska
Boat name: Zodiac Hurricane 733
Make: Zodiac
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200hp - Volvo Diesel
Bow Rise question - Zodiac Hurricane 733

Hey guys, I have been running a Hurricane 500 for the past 10 years up here in Alaska and i just bought a Hurricane 733 from the U.S Coastguard in an auction. I have been looking for a 7m RIB for a long time and finally found one and i am very happy with it.

It is the 200hp Inboard Turbo-Diesel Version. (Volvo TAMD41-A) The entire transom is completely reinforced by stainless steel and has towing brackets and rigging mounts all around. The Boat is very heavy, i estimate it to be in the 6000lb range. This Boat was used for towing, freighting & rescue for the U.S Healy Ice-breaker up in the Arctic up until spring 2016, the GPS still has thousands of Nautical miles of data recorded North of Iceland and the Chukchi sea, pretty awesome..

Anyways...

One thing i noticed with this Rib however is that the Bow-rise is a little high and the the boat does not completely plane until i am at the 3800 Rpm range which is to high for this motor to be run at. The outdrive is trimmed down as far as it can go @ -4 trim. I was thinking about installing trim tabs but am unsure if the bow is supposed to be elevated like this. The Helm and Console are huge and are both located at the stern so this does not help i imagine.

I do however plan to purchase 6 15 gallon fuel drums to tie down at the bow, maybe a couple hundred pounds on the bow will help a bit?

Do any of you have trim tabs on your ribs?
Old 02 January 2017, 22:33   #2

Town: San Francisco Bay
Boat name: SRMN 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: Honda 90
Good find! Any pics? Is the motor in the middle of the boat, and on a jack shaft setup?

Thats the same motor that was in my 7.4 Searider. Whats your top speed at 3800 RPM?
Old 02 January 2017, 23:11   #3

Town: north ayrshire
Boat name: charlie girl
Make: S/R5.4/regal3760
Length: 10m +