Old 21 January 2014, 12:00   #1
ncp

Town: California
Make: Avon 5.4m Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 90
Bolt-on Tube Fitting - (Willard 7m)

I've been putting this off for a while (~2 years), but I finally got around to trying to finish up bolting on the tubes. Six bolts and two aluminum bars remain on the inside near the bow. I now realize why I gave up the the first time and just got the boat out on the water!

I cannot, for the life of me, get the tubes to lie flat up there without a huge wrinkle (both sides have this issue). I've stretched, pulled, and pushed to no avail and the PU fabric is thick and tough to wrestle. The wrinkle is worse than you see in the picture - it probably has 1+ inch of air space behind it.

As you can see in the first picture the rest of the skirt lies perfectly. In the second picture, you can see the giant wrinkle.

Option 1, just muscle it down with the big wrinkle in place. It's going to look horrible and I'd really like it smooth because I'm building a anchor locker that will fit in there with very close tolerances.

Option 2, I could cut the tube skirt. I feel bad doing this but I'm trying to convince myself that (a) the next owner would be ok with this and (b) these tubes aren't in that great of shape anyways - i.e., if I pulled them off the boat, they wouldn't sell for much! Would cutting as I've sketched fix it? I would cut 3-4" and leave enough skirt to bolt the forward 2 bolts (omitting 1).

Option 3, ????? You tell me. Is there one? I don't know if I'd go through the labor of pulling the tubes off, redrilling holes, etc. to line them up better. The outsides fit perfectly and the insides fit well except for the forward 6 bolts (out of 160+!).

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	inside tube skirt.jpg
Views:	318
Size:	118.7 KB
ID:	89466   Click image for larger version

Name:	tube skirt wrinkle.jpg
Views:	272
Size:	87.0 KB
ID:	89467   Click image for larger version