Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 09 December 2011, 12:35   #21
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by biffer View Post
Talking of gennie. I've been thinking of installing a mains crossover switch so I can run the house on a generator. Looks a simple enough conversion My mate said just use a lead with a plug on either end

sent from a remote device
yep, I do that, two plugs. Be sure to switch off your main switch first tho or you'll feed current back into the supply. Could make you unpopular with the folk trying to repair your lines I guess. While the power is off, take the opportunity to wire a neon into the live side of the main switch then you can see when the power comes back on.
__________________

__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 December 2011, 12:57   #22
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by biffer View Post
Talking of gennie. I've been thinking of installing a mains crossover switch so I can run the house on a generator. Looks a simple enough conversion My mate said just use a lead with a plug on either end

sent from a remote device
I used to use a double plug arrangement until I lent it to my dad one day & he picked up the wrong end. The exposed plug was live He had his hand bandaged up for 2 weeks whilst the burns healed. It got cut up after that & I bought a proper crossover switch from a local salvage yard for about 30 quid. I have wired a buzzer & relay into it so that if the switch is in the "Generator" position & the mains side becomes live, the buzzer sounds. The switch means that it's impossible (Barring malfunction) to have both generator & mains on at the same time.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 December 2011, 14:36   #23
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker
yep, I do that, two plugs. Be sure to switch off your main switch first tho or you'll feed current back into the supply. Could make you unpopular with the folk trying to repair your lines I guess. While the power is off, take the opportunity to wire a neon into the live side of the main switch then you can see when the power comes back on.
J, whilst working on the live side of the main switch how do you ensure the engineers don't make you live again...
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 December 2011, 17:24   #24
SPR
Trade member
 
SPR's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Central Belt of Scotland
Boat name: Puddleduck III
Make: Bombard
Length: 5m +
Engine: 50 HP
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,066
buy a 15A plug and socket , safer than a 13A plug!
__________________
SPRmarine / SPRtraining
RYA Training Courses & Safety Equipment Sales
SPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 December 2011, 17:48   #25
Member
 
Country: Finland
Town: Helsinki
Boat name: SR 5.4
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: Toh1 3,5 Yam 90/2S
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 896
165mph storm wrecks a wind turbine | The Sun |News

Good catch taking the picture...I always believed turbines have kind of a auto switch off but
obviously did not work this time?
__________________
fun on a boat is inversely proportional to size...sort of anyway
C-NUMB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 December 2011, 18:25   #26
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
J, whilst working on the live side of the main switch how do you ensure the engineers don't make you live again...
Hehe, well there is a big switch on the pole in my garden but I can't claim to have ever used it. I tape up my screwdrivers to insulate them, take care and live a bit on the edge.

One has to have confidence in one's abilities....
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 December 2011, 18:32   #27
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker

Hehe, well there is a big switch on the pole in my garden but I can't claim to have ever used it. I tape up my screwdrivers to insulate them, take care and live a bit on the edge.

One has to have confidence in one's abilities....
I have been known to work on live circuits but never without at least some sort of fuse / breaker between me and the sub-station. That might be false belief that it makes it any safer though.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 December 2011, 18:35   #28
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by C-NUMB
165mph storm wrecks a wind turbine | The Sun |News

Good catch taking the picture...I always believed turbines have kind of a auto switch off but
obviously did not work this time?
Aye, if you notice this turbine is 180 deg rotated from its neighbours (which are off) so clearly something went wrong. Interesting trajectory of the burning bit though... is that ejected out and then blown back toward the windmill?
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 December 2011, 18:38   #29
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPR View Post
buy a 15A plug and socket , safer than a 13A plug!
Yes, the bare pins could be dodgy but how I do it is to run my genny at my garage and I plug in the cable before start-up but make sure to have the socket switched off so as not to load the genny when is first starts. I press the switch when I'm ready to apply power. Depending on your genny you may have twitch off some house stuff first... Fridge n freezer maybe. Automatic outside halogen lights will start up when first powered too.

Health n safety...... NONE OF THIS IS RECOMMENDED IF YOU CAN'T TRUST YOURSELF.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 December 2011, 18:45   #30
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
I have been known to work on live circuits but never without at least some sort of fuse / breaker between me and the sub-station. That might be false belief that it makes it any safer though.
Yes, your trust in a fuse or domestic circuit breaker may be a little misplaced. 30ma is prob a reasonable value to protect yersel.
__________________

__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 16:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.