Old 20 June 2012, 20:10   #1

Town: Vancouver
Make: Zodiac Pro 470 '99
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda 50hp Outboard
Bilge pump - Hole in hull

Hi all,

I recently acquired a '99 Zodiac Pro 470.
I am a beginner to boating and RIBs so I have turned to this wonderful forum for knowledge and advice.

The previous owner of this boat seems to have cut a hole in the aft deck and installed a second bilge pump (in addition to the white one at the back - see pic). The hole was then covered with a block of hardwood and glued down.
I noticed that the wood/deck seal had gaps so I decided to remove the wood and have a look and see what is going on in there.

My questions are...
1) should I be worried about this hole? Is it most likely an indication that water is getting into that part of the hull somehow.
I have not taken the boat onto the water yet, but when I do should I check to see how much water is making its way into that area (if any)
The strange thing is that the bilge pump (the one inside the hull) is not actually connected to the battery. If I touch the two wires to the battery the pump runs, so I guess I need to hook it up to a switch etc..
2) I have decided to put a proper access port into that wooden block (see pics below), but know how should I attach the wood to the deck. Can I just use this stuff (http://www.bottompaintstore.com/images/M05203.jpg )?
Do I need to put some kind of rubber between the deck and the wood? - seems like this is what the previous owner had done

Thanks,
Daniel
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	boat3_bilge.jpg
Views:	657
Size:	157.0 KB
ID:	69538   Click image for larger version

Name:	boat_hole2.jpg
Views:	274
Size:	87.0 KB
ID:	69539   Click image for larger version

Name:	boat_hole3.jpg
Views:	288
Size:	85.0 KB
ID:	69540  
Old 20 June 2012, 21:02   #2

Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Engine: Tohatsu 70hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
RIBase
Hi again Dan, welcome to the forum.