Old 06 June 2009, 14:19   #1

Town: Nr Salcombe
Length: no boat
Best place to tow toys from?

*Edit* Ignore my stupidity, a search for 'Bridal' bought it straight up!

*edit2* Also helps if you spell Bridle correctly

Hi Guys,

I have just bought a couple of toys I hope to tow but being a total novice I can't decide how...
The main issue is when I want to tow two, I am assuming I need to knock up some form of bridal to go around the engine?

This photo shows the back end, it has an eyelet each side and a very basic A-frame. I think the frame is a no no as I can flex the top by hand so I don't think it will take the strain (second photo shows how it is fixed to the transom)

Can anyone point me towards any advice? I did a quick search on here but didn't come up with much... also, should I be concerned about the rope on the tubes? Again I assume a bridal will negate that issue but I don't know where to start really!

Thanks once again!

Old 06 June 2009, 16:15   #2

Town: Buckingham
Make: Ribcraft 4.8
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mariner 75
Use the eyes !

Many waterski/ wakeboard/ kneedoard/ ringo ropes come complete with a bridle which will usually have clips to attach to each eyelet.

If you don't have one of these then the you can simply tie a length (about 6-8 ft) of rope between the eyelets which will extend behind the outboard. To help it float and stay out of the propeller you can use zip tie a couple of 6" lengths of foam pipe insulation. The ski rope then clips onto this bridle.

When you get bored of tying the rope, you can use upgrade to caribinas (ideally stainless steel) which you can splice onto each end of the bridle.

Many watersports shops and chandlers sell the bridles if you don't want to make one however.

It's usually well worth doing an RYA Powerboat Level 2 course (2 days) to cover all the basics (you can do these in Salcombe).
Old 06 June 2009, 19:11   #3
RIBnet supporter

Town: Belfast
Boat name: Cait
Make: Humber
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp Opti