Old 17 June 2013, 12:53   #1

Town: London/Devon
Make: Linley Swan /Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F150
Beach fishing help

Is anyone on here any good at beach fishing?

I have recently moved to a house in Budliegh Salterton and being on the beach thought I would start up fishing as its popular here.

I went out and bought a 12ft carbon beach casting rod, good quality reel and good tackle but have caught zilch!!

First evening around 6.30pm I fished for mackeral with spinners, this did not work out as there's been a land slide and the water was too sandy. However, next to me a chap was pulling dog fish using rag worm.

Yesterday I decided to come back and use bait with a anchored 4oz weight. Waited until high tide at midnight and cast out, it was blowing a force 3ish. Again nothing, this time using mackeral as bait.

Is there something I am doing wrong or have I just been unlucky with weather/sea state. Complete novice to beach fishing.

Thanks again.
Old 17 June 2013, 13:13   #2

Town: Royal Wootton Bassett
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250
There is a beach fishing club at Calshot activity centre, there are loads of people that fish near the RNLI slip there. You have to become a member which I think costs £5 plus the centre membership.

Lots of people to ask for advice, bells of hythe are good for bait and rigs etc.
Old 17 June 2013, 13:28   #3

Town: Crewe
Boat name: BLACK BOSS
Make: humber & searider
Length: 9m +
Engine: 2x200 ETEC & 2x40
MMSI: ex directory
RIBase
Morrisons are just up the road
Old 17 June 2013, 13:42   #4
RIBnet admin team

Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
RIBase
Go onto a fishing site, WSF for example.You'll get some good advice.They can be a bit...errrrm...odd.... though so prepare yourself for masses of txtspk,people who genuinely spell like wIllfish and some very odd opinions.