Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07 January 2005, 11:20   #1
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,410

Looks very cheap 5k buy it now price! I have read it through a couple of times and can't find the catch, the ad seems genuine, unfortunatly I don't have 5k!


ADS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 January 2005, 11:53   #2
RIBnet supporter
Nauti Buoy's Avatar
Country: UK - England
Town: West Wittering
Length: no boat
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,447

This is very cheap, spoken with a marine dealer I know very well and he reckons it is a 10,000 ish boat. I have emailed this guy who is selling it requesting Serial numbers etc also if he has any original sales receipts for any of it or any other history. If he has all this then looks like I'll be driving up with an engineer for a closer inspection...... we'll see.... looks tooooooo cheap to be so there has to be a catch somewhere plus it is only on for a 1 Day Auction which is strange....
Mobile: 07885 487777
Nauti Buoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 January 2005, 12:44   #3
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,410
I agree it seems to good to be true, I reckon the engines worth 5k. He seems to know a bit about the history so I doubt its stolen. Its been on ebay before I think, he says he needs the money to turn it into a bathroom! A 5k bathroom -I would not like to meet his wife
If I had 5k I would buy it. Let me know how you get on,

ADS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 January 2005, 22:20   #4
Country: UK - England
Town: sunny south coast
Boat name: Pride of Bilboa
Length: 10m +
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 521
I received this email back after asking to be placed on the approved buyers list..

Hi Dear Buyer,
Thanks for your intersted ZODIAC PRO 16 SE RIB + SUZUKI 115HP ENGINE.
My name is Mike and i am curently in Italy.
I have moved in here a few mounths ago leaving Lytham St. Annes,UK for
Rimini at my wife`s wish to be closer to her parents and also because of my
job.Beeing a young doctor is not alwais so nice as it seems. Enough about
me,now about the Watercraft.
I am the first owner of the Watercraft. You will receive your
Watercraft&trailer by FedEx Freight International at your home address.It is
insured in case of damage and it takes 4-5 days to be delivered at your
door.I will send you the Watercraft all the papers you need to register it
under your name.
The ZODIAC PRO 16 SE RIB has been used only for few hours (68) and there are
no scratches or something like that on the paint,it wasn't involved in
accidents.This is very fast.
I will agree to sell the Watercraft for the buy now price of 5000 GBP
shipping,handling and insurance charges of the crate,are included in the
price.Payment will be done via wire transfer as it is the fastest and I want
to shipp it in the same day when the payment is complete.
The most important thing in all my activity here is that I am affiliated at
eBay Square Trade,I have a a purchase protection account for 10000$ and I
assume you know what this means.
The finacial part of this deal will be manage by them.They are accting like
a third party in this deal. Also,I have to let you know that I want a proof
that you have all the money availble for this deal as I will shipp it in the
same day or next day morning,after you proove to me that you are the real
Since this deal will be made using a THIRD PARTY to help us closing this
deal,I prefer honnest buyers.Anyway,if you want more details about this
deal,please reply with the following informations:
-Your full name;
-Your shipping address;
-Your eBay user id.
I will look for your email,so that we can move forward with this deal!
tcwozere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 January 2005, 01:21   #5
Country: UK - England
Town: Beverley
Boat name: TBA
Make: Unknown
Length: 6m +
Engine: Tohatsu 8Hp
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 257
Is this a case of a stolen identity? An awful lot of different email addresses in the headers! Haven't got time to look again now, but I think I might have seen it in ebay in 2 different places as well.

"I'm not lost, I'm exploring...."
roohairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 January 2005, 03:21   #6
Country: UK - England
Town: Yeovil
Boat name: Ribbit
Make: Tohatsu
Length: 6m +
Engine: Tohatsu 90hp EPTOL
MMSI: 235026896
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5
I drove this boat at an MGA/Suzuki event in May 2003 and recieved the same relpy as tcwozere. The boat is genuine enough...........the seller is not!

The language/spelling is not right. The original genuine eBay advert of a few weeks ago has been snatched, altered and recycled.

My advice - don't touch it!!
Cirrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 January 2005, 03:37   #7
Country: UK - England
Town: emsworth
Boat name: the black stuff
Length: 8m +
Engine: 2 x 200hp etec's
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 446
the boat is genuine and is for sale ,as i have spoke to the owner by phone a while ago and proved bill of sale , but for far more money than quoted here its a scam
RIVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 January 2005, 09:53   #8
Country: Ireland
Town: Dublin.
Boat name: Tender 2.
Make: Valiant DR 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 Optimax
MMSI: coming soon !
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 443
He types english like a "Ginerian"....(nigerian) . Why not agree to buy the boat and send him fifty pence. He will then spend days trying to get the 5k the money transfer people.
Fast... Very feckin fast please.
Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 January 2005, 12:45   #9
Country: UK - England
Town: mansfield
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via MSN to osprey__viper
another e-bay scam????

I tried selling my motorbike on e-bay last year and had a similar type of thing. The buyer gave an address in nottingham which was genuine, but he wasn't. The 'buyer' wanted to work through a third party etc,etc,.

It all sounds very dodgy

osprey__viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 January 2005, 09:10   #10
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Southampton
Boat name: DynaMoHumm/ SRV/deja
Make: Avon8.4, 5.4 & 4.777
Length: 8m +
Engine: Cat3126 Yam 90 &70
MMSI: 42
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,533
I hate Con artists

I like your suggestion Scotty that'd give the police an hot trail too!

Here it comes again, I don't stand a chance
Soul possession, Got me in a trance
Pullin' me back to you - Deja Voodoo
Rogue Wave is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.