Click Here to Login

Old 09 February 2003, 17:16   #1

Town: Gloucetsreshire
Boat name: GATO DI MARE
Make: MAR.CO
Length: 9m +
Engine: Yamaha 200Vmax
MMSI: 235027678
Send a message via MSN to Manos Send a message via Yahoo to Manos Send a message via Skype™ to Manos
Assistance Required for SS Tanks

Hi to all (again LOL )

I have finally got to the end of the ordeal called 'building a RIB to race and for leisure' however we have now reached the point of the tanks.
The idea (originally) was to fit plastic tanks but they only come in 70 ltrs as standard in SAfrica and to buy bigger will cost me a fortune. Also I would have needed 3x70 ltrs to have adequate fuel to finish a race or to just take it safely to France for a day or two.
The question to you all is (since I'm not an expert on tanks) shall I fit SS tanks?
If yes shall I fit them on deck for easy inspection or inside the hull?
If the SS tanks is a good idea does anyone know any good SS tank manufacturer in the UK who would be able to give some sound advise??
Any info highly appreciated.
Cheers
Manos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2003, 18:06   #2

Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Manos, I seem to remember discussing stainless steel fuel tanks with Dirk just before Christmas in the thread of all threads, but we don't want to go there I think.

Never had a problem with stainless steel tanks other than in the UK if you leave them empty over the winter then they breath moisture in bit by bit, as the weather and temperature changes so you end up with a small amount of water in the tank. A good water seperator will sort that, and I recommend a diesel one and the filtration is finer.

Tanks below the deck are great for freeing up space but getting at the sender unit when its below a glassed in deck can be fun. Alternatively fit a flow meter.