Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 09 October 2006, 12:32   #1

Length: 3m +
Any tips fro climbig into a small rib from water ?

Hello, newbie here, have a small tender ( 3m inflatable with a 8bhp motor ) which I use up and down the river, whats the best way of getting into the thing from the water ?
Old 09 October 2006, 13:24   #2

Town: PORTSMOUTH
Make: Avon 5.4, Avon 3.4,
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 90, Merc 30
i got a small sib, with a merc 4hp, theres no question bout it - ur gonna get wet! - i use mine in the sea, bit hairy sumtimes, I pull the boat in the water with the engine tilted so not to smash the skeg up, I m usually wearing a wetsuit anyway - start her whens its deep enough, wait a min or so to warm it up and im off -

if ur on a river hmmm I guess u could be clever and just jump off a bank and hope u dont get the bouncy castle effect and get bounced back in!
Old 09 October 2006, 13:31   #3

cheers for that, but what I actually ment was if I was in the water, what technique should I use to get back in, or would the thing flip or just be damn near impossable to do. I would be by myself so somkeone couldn't just pull me back in.

I was thinking grab the side, flick a leg over and try and "scooch" over the tube. Either that or go over the nose to prevent it fliping.
Old 09 October 2006, 13:41   #4

Town: Thurso
Make: Gemini Zapcat
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 50hp
Send a message via MSN to bobbyjoeufb
Not sure about smaller engines but the Geimin Inflatable I used to use had a 40hp on the back and you could climb in over the transom using the engine as a step.

If there is not one on the smaller engine, you could attact rope to the boat with a loop in it. When required, put the loop over the side of the tube and into the water deep enough to use the loop as a foot hold to help you get up and roll into the boat.
Old 09 October 2006, 13:48   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbyjoeufb View Post