Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 12 May 2014, 14:06   #11
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,147
I'm in the middle of doing mine at the moment, but unfortunately don't have any images yet.

I'm using grommets with a sleeve attached as per the image below.

I tried pushing a 'fish' through first but it kept jamming up.

I've had most success by wrapping the end of the cable in white insulation tape with a tail on the end about an inch long of just the tape folded in half.
Being white you can see it when it appears in the hole and then grab it with a pair of thin long nosed pliers.

Once the cable is pulled through the hole the grommet can be slid down the cable and forced through the hole.

It's worked for me on 3 cables so far.

One thing to note is how difficult it is to get a nice round hole in a bit of stainless tube with a hand held drill. You end up with something that looks like a 3 leaf clover instead.
I made up a jig that clamps around the tube and has a large bush welded to it to drill through, nice round hole every time that way.

I'll try to get some pictures tomorrow night.

Nasher.
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2014, 14:25   #12
Member
 
maxitope's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: lancashire
Make: xpro 380
Length: 4m +
Engine: tohatsu 20hp 4stroke
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 36
RIBase
Try stainless 0.8 mig wire its very flexable and if u put a small loop in the end u can conect the wires to it and pull threw hope it helps
__________________

__________________
maxitope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2014, 18:42   #13
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,147
Stopped off at the boat to get some pictures on my way to the gym tonight.

The whole point of this for me was that when I leave the boat tied up anywhere people will raft up to it by putting a line around the 'A' Frame and hence the cables cable tied to it. They have been damaged on more than one occasion that way.

Excuse the quality of the 'after' images as the light was fading fast, plus the amount of green slime that's built up in the last couple of months.

I'm pleased with how much neater it looks.
The Anchor Light and Nav lights are now wired from one multicore cable rather than two separate twin core cables.
The other two cables are the Antenna Coax, and the GPS antenna cable.

I've included an image of the jig I made to drill the holes.

I'm going to make up a stainless guard to protect the cable run at the bottom, then it's just a bit more tidying up and a good clean required before it's finished.

Also I can't stress enough how easy the white insulation tape made getting the cables through the holes.

Nasher.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RN 3.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	161.6 KB
ID:	94593   Click image for larger version

Name:	RN 1.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	200.4 KB
ID:	94594   Click image for larger version

Name:	RN 2.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	142.1 KB
ID:	94595  
__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 May 2014, 03:35   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Enfield/Switzerland
Boat name: Zonneschijn II/Vixen
Make: Shakespeare/Avon
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evin' 175 DI /Yam 90
MMSI: 235055605
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,418
Nasher
Nice job!
__________________
Neil Harvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 May 2014, 05:26   #15
Member
 
HughN's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Littlehampton, W Sx
Length: no boat
MMSI: 235101591
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 732
Net curtain wire every time!
__________________
"Can ye model it? For if ye can, ye understand it, and if ye canna, ye dinna!" - Lord kelvin
HughN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 May 2014, 07:05   #16
Member
 
boristhebold's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,292
In the end I put small diamter rope through each hole then mounted A frame, then loose bolted and pulled all cables through so no wires are visiable apart from to the side nav lights which I also used some black conduit to make a neat job. Used two core wire for lights which has a good protective outer cable. The only bitch was pulling the GPS cable through the hull but managed in the end. Talc on cables helped.
__________________
boristhebold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 May 2014, 11:33   #17
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxitope View Post
Try stainless 0.8 mig wire its very flexable and if u put a small loop in the end u can conect the wires to it and pull threw hope it helps
Safety wire (the stuff they use on race motors to keep nuts and bolts in place) works well. Cheap, too, at around $15 a pound. Don't know what "normal" stuff is, but I get the stainless, which can be left in place for the next time you need to pull something through.

jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.