Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 18 October 2014, 12:06   #1

Town: Phuket
Length: 4m +
Anchoring at this beach for an overnight stay?

Hi there!

I'm planning to stay for a few days at a nice resort owning their own "private" beach (the photosphere was taken by me during a previous stay).

The resort is "OK" with anchoring my boat there.

As stated in my other posts, I'm really new at boating/anchoring and somewhat inexperienced - or at best really unsure of myself!

How to safely anchor? Do I need a second anchor? As you can see on the photosphere, there's already a rope going from the beach to the water for their own "taxi boat"...

And please, don't laugh at me!
Old 18 October 2014, 14:03   #2

Town: Stirling
Boat name: The Gurnard
Make: Quicksilver
Engine: mariner 25hp 2s
I certainly wouldn’t laugh Andaman ... We all learn off each other ..but I would be a liar to say I wasn’t envious of the stunning location .

I often stay overnight in remote places and have to think of what Im going to do with my boat.

Yours is just a small RIB ..so for peace of mind.. I think I would just beach it for the night. If possible..using the tide to leave it high and dry ..then refloat it in the morning. (Assuming tide times are suitable)

To anchor it..you will need to provide more information.. ie ..how you intend getting ashore if you anchor off shore. How tidal is the bay..is does it go out far.. how exposed to swell ... is the wind direction changeable etc.