Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 27 May 2007, 14:25   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,815
Quote:
If it is all chain,
then in a rib you would need a passing superhero to pull it back in again
__________________

__________________
Dave M
www.wavelengthtraining.co.uk
wavelength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2007, 19:27   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by wavelength View Post
then in a rib you would need a passing superhero to pull it back in again
Quote:
Originally Posted by psychopic View Post
I never anchor in more than 2m of water...
May not be needing that superhero then.
__________________

__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 06:51   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,815
ok full quote
Quote:
If it is all chain, it's recommended to have at least 4 times the max depth of water you'll encounter.
I doubt if 2 metres is the max depth and the anchor is safety kit-if it wont go make it stop with the anchor!
I dont do formulae with anchors. Having fished at anchor for years in some of the biggest rise and falls of tide in the country with asociated currents I have never needed 6 times the depth with chain (say 2/3 metres) and rope. In just 30ft of water that would be 180ft. I do get folk on instructor courses who are asked to anchor the rib and then start quoting formulae at me and telling me about the scope needed with all chain and it really ****** me off when we are sat in say a 5m rib. Its usually becomes obvious they have never anchored a boat in a tide but have read about it in yottie books. When they quote all chain I have to ask where are we gonna store all that weight in the rib we are in and then who is going to retrieve it cos it won't be me!
The more rope you have out the better it will hold (but there are practical limits). The more chain you have the better it will hold(but again there are limits with what you can cope with). In an emergency if it still wont hold with all your rope and the associated chain then tie something heavy such as a divers weight belt or heavy fishing weights where the chain meets the rope and then you may have a chance.
__________________
Dave M
www.wavelengthtraining.co.uk
wavelength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 11:12   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Essex/Vendee
Boat name: shockwave,Voluntry 2
Make: Pac 22/ searider5.4
Length: 6m +
Engine: 180hp turbo,yam 90
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,015
I have just bought 30 metres of 8mm i do need the weight up front and wont be able to try it till after June .i may regret it but had to try it out ,its good quality uncalibrated and cost 89.oo pounds including delivery posted next day well pleased
__________________
PeterR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 11:50   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,815
Bet you postman was well chuffed shoving that thru the letterbox just have to see how you go on with it and keep going to the gymn in the meantime I rather think the thought of lifting it by hand would persuade me to fish on the drift rather than put the 'ook down though
We had two Cygnus 28ft hardboats side by side on pontoons here in the marina, one of which was noticably down by the head. Reason was absolutely shedloadsa chain in the anchor space. If you are on all chain it is recommended to bend the last link to the boat with some hefty rope rather than a shackle-then if you ever need to get rid of it in a hurry a knife will do it rather than that rusty hacksaw or shackle key that cant be found when you desperatley need it .
__________________
Dave M
www.wavelengthtraining.co.uk
wavelength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 12:18   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by wavelength View Post
ok full quote

I doubt if 2 metres is the max depth and the anchor is safety kit-if it wont go make it stop with the anchor!
I dont do formulae with anchors. Having fished at anchor for years in some of the biggest rise and falls of tide in the country with asociated currents I have never needed 6 times the depth with chain (say 2/3 metres) and rope. In just 30ft of water that would be 180ft. I do get folk on instructor courses who are asked to anchor the rib and then start quoting formulae at me and telling me about the scope needed with all chain and it really ****** me off when we are sat in say a 5m rib. Its usually becomes obvious they have never anchored a boat in a tide but have read about it in yottie books. When they quote all chain I have to ask where are we gonna store all that weight in the rib we are in and then who is going to retrieve it cos it won't be me!
The more rope you have out the better it will hold (but there are practical limits). The more chain you have the better it will hold(but again there are limits with what you can cope with). In an emergency if it still wont hold with all your rope and the associated chain then tie something heavy such as a divers weight belt or heavy fishing weights where the chain meets the rope and then you may have a chance.

Couldn't agree more - all rope works fine for me and the Bristol Channel has some pretty fearsome tides - especially in some of our estuaries. I have anchored quite successfully with only a 3:1 scope. Obviously the more the better but it was in a Force 6 and she still held with a 5kg Bruce.

I have about 10m of very heavy chain and a 6kg Delta with 2x60m of thick rope for emergencies but have never used them yet. just use 1/2 the rope no chain for day to day.
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 12:40   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by wavelength View Post
ok full quote

I doubt if 2 metres is the max depth and the anchor is safety kit-if it wont go make it stop with the anchor!
I dont do formulae with anchors. Having fished at anchor for years in some of the biggest rise and falls of tide in the country with asociated currents I have never needed 6 times the depth with chain (say 2/3 metres) and rope. In just 30ft of water that would be 180ft. I do get folk on instructor courses who are asked to anchor the rib and then start quoting formulae at me and telling me about the scope needed with all chain and it really ****** me off when we are sat in say a 5m rib. Its usually becomes obvious they have never anchored a boat in a tide but have read about it in yottie books. When they quote all chain I have to ask where are we gonna store all that weight in the rib we are in and then who is going to retrieve it cos it won't be me!
The more rope you have out the better it will hold (but there are practical limits). The more chain you have the better it will hold(but again there are limits with what you can cope with). In an emergency if it still wont hold with all your rope and the associated chain then tie something heavy such as a divers weight belt or heavy fishing weights where the chain meets the rope and then you may have a chance.
Agree with all this


Quote:
Originally Posted by codprawn View Post
I have anchored quite successfully with only a 3:1 scope. Obviously the more the better but it was in a Force 6 and she still held with a 5kg Bruce.
Codprawn - what were you doing anchoring out there in a F6?
I expect you were taking photos of all the dories running back to the harbour
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 15:04   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,815
Quote:
Agree with all this

Quote:
I expect you were taking photos of all the dories running back to the harbour

Hey codders - hows that new camera of yours doing anyway? Still happy with it?
__________________
Dave M
www.wavelengthtraining.co.uk
wavelength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 15:10   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by codprawn View Post
I have anchored quite successfully with only a 3:1 scope. Obviously the more the better but it was in a Force 6 and she still held with a 5kg Bruce.
Yeh, but go away and leave it for a week and see how many nights you sleep.

It's one thing anchoring while you go fishin, but it's another thing setting up an anchor you feel you can trust and leave for a good length of time. It's all chain for me. I've experienced the fretting where the chain and warp join and I've experienced the gasp, but relief, when lifting an anchor to find only the last threads of the warp still connected.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 16:36   #20
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset
Boat name: Pending
Make: Pending
Length: no boat
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 198
Anchors

I have had many hours of fun over the years tryin to get various types of Anchor off the bottom when they have gotten stuck, driven over um to brake um out, even had to leave em for dead on occasion & put a buff on em & go back later (gets a bit dear though)....even pulled up a piece of reef once (well with help of a windlass) But now use a 'MANSON SUPREME' 7Kg with 5m of 8mm chain attached to a warp, exellent holding & with the shackel though the slotted part along its back just drive over it & the shackel slides along it back & the pull is from the front end of the anchor, pull it up no problems ever encountered even in very rocky bottoms, no moving parts to give you a blood blister ether. Available from 'www.gaelforcemarine.co.uk' 113.95 for 7Kg.
Mike.
__________________

__________________
Mike...

The Titanic was built by professionals - The Ark was built by one man!
www.aqua-care.co.uk
Spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.