Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 26 May 2016, 13:26   #1
Member
 
psycho's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Torbay
Boat name: Dont Panic
Make: Zodiac YL 480 DL
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury 75
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 174
Anchor rode diameter

I know this has been asked before, but I cannot find it........

I have read that 1/8" (3mm) per 9' (2.8m) of boat is adequate....!

I have just bought a 4.8m rib, and the anchor rode is a 6mm, kind of nylon paracord. It just does not look big enough, but according to what I read, it is ample. All my boats in the past, have had at least 10mm 3 braid, and easily spliced. But this stuff came with the rib, and I know it is super strong, but need clarification.....!
__________________

__________________
psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2016, 15:05   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicester
Length: 5m +
Engine: 135hp Mercury
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 707
Regardless of whether it's strong enough a thicker rode is going to be easier on the hands when hauling.
__________________

__________________
paintman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2016, 15:22   #3
Member
 
psycho's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Torbay
Boat name: Dont Panic
Make: Zodiac YL 480 DL
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury 75
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 174
That has already crossed my mind mate, as just trying to get everything in order, my hands are wrecked.

However, I have just measured this line, and there is 70 metres of the stuff, and would cost a pretty penny to replace. I would willingly fork out, if this is not upto the job, that is why I posed the question, as it just doesn't look right.
__________________
psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2016, 15:28   #4
Member
 
psycho's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Torbay
Boat name: Dont Panic
Make: Zodiac YL 480 DL
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury 75
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 174
picture
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4532.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	153.9 KB
ID:	113096  
__________________
psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2016, 15:37   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
MMSI: 235074042
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,564
Your not pulling up 50kg just were a pair of gloves to prevent chafe it will have a breaking strain far more than the boat weight.
__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2016, 15:41   #6
Member
 
psycho's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Torbay
Boat name: Dont Panic
Make: Zodiac YL 480 DL
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury 75
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 174
That was what I was thinking Jeff, I know that this stuff is meant to be super strong, but like said earlier, it just doesnt look right, and in turn, cast a doubt in my own mind...!
__________________
psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2016, 15:47   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
MMSI: 235074042
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by psycho View Post
That was what I was thinking Jeff, I know that this stuff is meant to be super strong, but like said earlier, it just doesnt look right, and in turn, cast a doubt in my own mind...!
Yes understand that and to be honest I wouldn't buy it either not because it won't do the job just small rope tends to knot when you fake it back in the locker/ bucket the last thing you want when deploying in a hurry is undoing knots unless it on a reel then no probs.

Cheers
__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2016, 21:52   #8
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Kind of depends on where and in what conditions you'll be anchoring. If in open water, swell will cause a pretty decent additional load on the anchor line. If in rocky areas, that thin cord is going to chafe away pretty quickly.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2016, 05:46   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
MMSI: 235074042
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,564
It won't chafe if you have the correct length of chain which is as important as the anchor
__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2016, 11:47   #10
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
I find anchor line always chafes. I run 400' of 3/8" twisted nylon with about 20' of heavy (5/8"? 11/16"?) chain. It happens when the hook falls into a crack or channel in the rocks and the chain/line junction doesn't clear the tops of the rocks. Or when the wind shifts while on the hook.

jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.