Old 26 January 2007, 02:31   #21

Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Quote:
Originally Posted by pop View Post
have you used both then coders? i have not seen many ribs with Rolls Royce jets. hamilton seem well used in NZ's commercial relm, i have to say i am not an expert on jets so all comments are taken into consideration.

madmat do you run on surface drives?

Jhon i am right in thinking the yellow fin never got off the ground, am i not?

thanks
In fact more and more RIBs etc will use them - the new Offshore Raiding Craft for the UK use 2 jets to give 36kts fully loaded.

http://www.rolls-royce.com/marine/ma...fast_craft.jsp

Have a look at the slides on the page - it shows a US RIB that does 50kts with RR jets. Can't save the piccies out though - looks awesome!!!

Some of the latest advanced warships use KaMeWa/RR jets - the new stealth designs in particular.

They tend to concentrate on the bigger units but they also do them for smaller craft. Hamiltons go up to about 3000kw - the Rolls Royce units go up to 36,000kw!!!
Old 26 January 2007, 04:07   #22
pop

Town: Paihia
Make: Scorpion
Engine: indoard yam 420 sti
Yer they do look nice and that rib seems to go well 50kts, but how much faster than 50 can you get from a jet? speed was not important in the beginning but its becoming more and more appealing. the hard part is to combine both good sea worthiness with the option to do over, or 60kts when the conditions will allow.

i know that jet skis and smaller jet boats get over 50 so why do hamilton say that its hard to get over 50?

do you know a ruff price on the RR jets?
Old 26 January 2007, 08:37   #23
Administrator

Town: Brighton
Length: 3m +
Quote:
hamilton seem well used in NZ's commercial relm, i have to say i am not an expert on jets so all comments are taken into consideration.