Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 06 February 2016, 15:33   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bridport
Boat name: Pic
Make: Halmatic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Outboard
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 273
airmar transducer

Fitted my new transducer today airmar m260. Have any of you guys got 1. What's your thought on it
__________________

__________________
Mat856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 February 2016, 19:38   #2
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Dalmeny
Make: zodiac
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 627
Not to put a downer on it but why did you go for such a deep water transducer living in the UK.

I had the airmar tm 260 which is basically the same transducer. I fish offshore for both pelagic upper water colum fish as well as deep drop fishing with big ellectric reels capable of fishing 1000m +.

Most of my deep drop fishing was in water 300-550m deep, at these depths I saw no improvement over the lowrance transducer $1100 cheaper. The cheaper transducer could easely show fish on the bottom as well as show my 5kg sinkers when using the units menu to select only the bottom 50m of water.

The 260 more often than not flipped out in deep water often telling me I was in 2m off water, it rarely stayed connected with the bottom. Just to add the correct transducer was sellected in the head units menu and the second transducer was disscinected.

For shallow water work in 60-80m once again I saw no improvement and the narrow beam also missed structure and fish that the wider beam would show.

I worked closely with Lowrance tech team over several months not wanting to give up on this transducer but eventualy sold it on eBay for next to nothing

Not wanting to put you off as you may have far more luck tham me, also the warm clear water I work in will have a huge influence on why I get such good results from a $200 transducer

Jon
__________________

__________________
jonp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 February 2016, 03:24   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bridport
Boat name: Pic
Make: Halmatic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Outboard
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonp View Post
Not to put a downer on it but why did you go for such a deep water transducer living in the UK.

I had the airmar tm 260 which is basically the same transducer. I fish offshore for both pelagic upper water colum fish as well as deep drop fishing with big ellectric reels capable of fishing 1000m +.

Most of my deep drop fishing was in water 300-550m deep, at these depths I saw no improvement over the lowrance transducer $1100 cheaper. The cheaper transducer could easely show fish on the bottom as well as show my 5kg sinkers when using the units menu to select only the bottom 50m of water.

The 260 more often than not flipped out in deep water often telling me I was in 2m off water, it rarely stayed connected with the bottom. Just to add the correct transducer was sellected in the head units menu and the second transducer was disscinected.

For shallow water work in 60-80m once again I saw no improvement and the narrow beam also missed structure and fish that the wider beam would show.

I worked closely with Lowrance tech team over several months not wanting to give up on this transducer but eventualy sold it on eBay for next to nothing

Not wanting to put you off as you may have far more luck tham me, also the warm clear water I work in will have a huge influence on why I get such good results from a $200 transducer

Jon
Was hoping forda clearer bottom at speed, o we'll
__________________
Mat856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 February 2016, 07:56   #4
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Dalmeny
Make: zodiac
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 627
You may well do so, just didn't notice it on mine. The continental shelf starts it drop off around 250m here, I have no problems around 40kmh (20kn) holding bottom on 200 htz.

When I get over 350m I tend to use 50htz and slow up to around 8kn. This image is from my old boat and the cheap transducer, on my new boat I get better results out of the unit.

__________________
jonp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 February 2016, 10:55   #5
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,594
RIBase
I've had M260 txrs in my last & current boat. Previous boats had transom transducers. I find that the M260 gives a much better bottom trace at planing speeds (30kn) where the transom mounts lost it at around 15kn. They can be a faff to fit especially through an 8" Bailey hatch, but once done right they just do what it say on the tin. I like 'em
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 February 2016, 12:21   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bridport
Boat name: Pic
Make: Halmatic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Outboard
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
I've had M260 txrs in my last & current boat. Previous boats had transom transducers. I find that the M260 gives a much better bottom trace at planing speeds (30kn) where the transom mounts lost it at around 15kn. They can be a faff to fit especially through an 8" Bailey hatch, but once done right they just do what it say on the tin. I like 'em
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	98.5 KB
ID:	110669 had a big anoth hole to work luckily, just need some better weather to try it out
__________________
Mat856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 February 2016, 15:33   #7
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Dalmeny
Make: zodiac
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
I've had M260 txrs in my last & current boat. Previous boats had transom transducers. I find that the M260 gives a much better bottom trace at planing speeds (30kn) where the transom mounts lost it at around 15kn. They can be a faff to fit especially through an 8" Bailey hatch, but once done right they just do what it say on the tin. I like 'em
What depths do you use yours at, my 260 was also ok out to 200m at any speed but so was the cheap one.

With narrow beams in deep water once you get wave and swell action the beam misses on the return ping then flips out the unit.

Jon
__________________
jonp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 February 2016, 15:37   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bridport
Boat name: Pic
Make: Halmatic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Outboard
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonp View Post
What depths do you use yours at, my 260 was also ok out to 200m at any speed but so was the cheap one.

With narrow beams in deep water once you get wave and swell action the beam misses on the return ping then flips out the unit.

Jon
I will mostly only be in 200ft of water so nothing really
__________________
Mat856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 February 2016, 16:25   #9
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,594
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonp View Post
What depths do you use yours at, my 260 was also ok out to 200m at any speed but so was the cheap one.



With narrow beams in deep water once you get wave and swell action the beam misses on the return ping then flips out the unit.



Jon


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mat856 View Post
I will mostly only be in 200ft of water so nothing really

100-150m tops. The M260 gives me CHIRP & downscan ( or whatever Lowrance call it ) it's dual frequency & I mostly use the 200hz. I find having a split screen with 50/200hz allows me to narrow in on targets, especially in shallow water.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.