Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 April 2007, 11:48   #1
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 90
advice on fitting A frame to floor

Hi I would like some advice on how to fit an A frame , I can buy a factory made A frame but the trouble is it needs to be fitted to the floor, is there any product such as epoxy resin that I can bond the base to the floor as I am reluctant to cut the floor to bolt it in, thanks
__________________

__________________
davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 April 2007, 11:53   #2
Member
 
martx007's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wigan
Boat name: Rosemary
Make: Yamaha
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50 Honda 4st
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 64
Send a message via MSN to martx007 Send a message via Skype™ to martx007
Me Too ! Just ordered one for my Yam yesterday but at £527 I intend to fit it myself !
__________________

__________________
martx007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 April 2007, 13:55   #3
Member
 
Cypman's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Isle of Man
Town: Douglas
Length: no boat
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 337
Fixing A Frame

Whilst there are some very effective epoxy resin adhesives available I believe that S/S bolts are required due to the harsh environment of shock loads etc etc .

It is not too difficult to cut a hole in the floor (only just big enough to get your hand and spanner into) with a hole cutter and once the A Frame is securely affixed you can resin seal the edge of the holes (one each side!!) and then fit an appropriately sized inspection hatch. Not only will this be watertight but it will allow you to check the bilges at any time in the future.

If done properly it is most unlikely to impact on the integrity of the boat, but if you are not sure of the structure of the hull/decking in the area selected you should seek advice from the RIB Builder before proceeding

If you don't wish to go down this route, epoxy resin and big S/S self-tapping screws may well be sufficient if the A Frame is not too large and you have not got much equipment stapped to it.
__________________
Cypman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 April 2007, 14:22   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Over here
Boat name: S.S. Nobstick
Make: Three Wise Monkeys
Length: 3m +
Engine: 44lbs of thrust....
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,115
....."No Nails"
__________________
Jono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 April 2007, 15:10   #5
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Is it possible to bolt the A Frame to the transom. This might be an easier route as you will have acces to bothe sides for doing up bolts etc.
__________________
http://www.xfire.com/download/
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 April 2007, 15:36   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Seashell
Make: Redbay
Length: 7m +
Engine: Inboard diesel
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,263
Ribcraft seem to favor the tramson idea, I assume from what biggles just said its like that on his and certainly is on my 4.8. It's not a great way of doing it IMHO as it really isn't as strong as through the floor as well. I used to be able to tow off the one I had on Cormorant (4.1m) as I bolted it through the transom and the deck. The double on the Ribcraft is quite wobbly dispite its very heavy duty apearance.
__________________
Tim M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 April 2007, 15:52   #7
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
do a search on 'a frame', quite a bit of info on here
Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 April 2007, 15:58   #8
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Tim,

Mines through the transom and floor. Therefore does a couple of jobs. But if its not factory fiitted just thought it might be easier to go thro transom. Obviously bearing in mind you don't want to pull skiers with it.
__________________
http://www.xfire.com/download/
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 April 2007, 17:37   #9
Member
 
martx007's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wigan
Boat name: Rosemary
Make: Yamaha
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50 Honda 4st
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 64
Send a message via MSN to martx007 Send a message via Skype™ to martx007
i was expecting to put it near the edge of the transom, right over the engine where there is no hull below. Sound reasonable? (as in the pic)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00432.jpg
Views:	203
Size:	82.6 KB
ID:	25919  
__________________
martx007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 April 2007, 14:29   #10
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Sounds reasonable. Now I've seen the pic I'd attempt to do what you say. However how strong is that part ? If it has wood inside then no problem. If not wait and see if anyone who has that boat can confirm if its strong enough.
__________________

__________________
http://www.xfire.com/download/
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.