Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 29 May 2011, 11:40   #1
Member
 
actions's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Herne Bay
Boat name: Red May
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 40hp Honda 4 Stroke
MMSI: Is quite long
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 653
Send a message via Skype™ to actions
"A" Frame on a zodiac pro 420?

Anyone got any thoughts on adding an A frame to a Zodiac pro 420.

Is it possible and will it look ok?

Have seen this one

RIB, BOAT, A-FRAME + NAV-LIGHTS NEW STAINLESS STEEL | eBay UK

Needs to fold flat so i can still get in the garage.

If its going to add to much weight etc or be a pain, then i wont bother.
__________________

__________________
actions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 May 2011, 14:25   #2
Member
 
spartacus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 60hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,270
RIBase
Zodiac don't sell a genuine Zodiac A-frame for the 420, only the 4.7m which used to be called the Pro 9-Man and is now renamed the Pro 500. Strange lot - aren't they!!!

A-frames are useful if you're planning to use it as a base for an antenna, navigation lights, etc.

My only concern regards a fold-down version, is that it's still as strong, and that it doesn't rattle, otherwise it will drive you round the bend. Would be worth seeing how the genuine Zodiac A-frames attach (whether they're attached to the transom, or simply bolted to the floor), and then look around to see what else is on the market.
__________________

__________________
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 May 2011, 14:37   #3
Member
 
actions's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Herne Bay
Boat name: Red May
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 40hp Honda 4 Stroke
MMSI: Is quite long
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 653
Send a message via Skype™ to actions
I've been looking at pcitures from google but of course it doesnt show any close ups of the fixings etc.

Its a shame i dont have any dealers for the Zodiac close by but of course its worth the traveling to get it right.

I take your point on the possible rattling and hadnt thought of that. I will keep my eyes peeled at some other ribs out and about and see how they are fixed and if fold down speak to the owner.

Cheers
__________________
actions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 June 2011, 09:38   #4
Member
 
actions's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Herne Bay
Boat name: Red May
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 40hp Honda 4 Stroke
MMSI: Is quite long
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 653
Send a message via Skype™ to actions
Pics etc

Anybody got any images of a frames on a zodiac pro boat and best way to secure it or indeed any images of any small rib a frames.

Looking into getting one made so its not a folding one to save any rattles but would be grateful for any designs and fixing points.

Thanks.
__________________
actions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 June 2011, 09:51   #5
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
We have fitted light A frames to SIBs in the past, made by welding two cranked tubes (as per TV aerials in the old days) at the top. To make it removable put fixings in the transom, two per side, and use wing nuts to attach the frame.

Looks neat and plenty robust enough to hold nav lights and a VHF antenna.

__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 June 2011, 14:42   #6
Member
 
spartacus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 60hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,270
RIBase
This is from Zodiac's MilPro division. The single-tube A-frame fits the Pro 500 (4.7m), however would provide you the basis of some of the measurements you might need if you're getting one fabicated. As far as I can see it's held in place with bolts through the A-frame and through the transom. It's fitted on the inside. before getting one made - speak to a Zodiac dealer. This A-frame may fit as it looks like it has width adjustment.
http://www.zodiacmilpro.com/product/...t%20frames.pdf
__________________
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 June 2011, 14:56   #7
Member
 
actions's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Herne Bay
Boat name: Red May
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 40hp Honda 4 Stroke
MMSI: Is quite long
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 653
Send a message via Skype™ to actions
Quote:
Originally Posted by spartacus View Post
This is from Zodiac's MilPro division. The single-tube A-frame fits the Pro 500 (4.7m), however would provide you the basis of some of the measurements you might need if you're getting one fabicated. As far as I can see it's held in place with bolts through the A-frame and through the transom. It's fitted on the inside. before getting one made - speak to a Zodiac dealer. This A-frame may fit as it looks like it has width adjustment.
http://www.zodiacmilpro.com/product/...t%20frames.pdf

That is perfect, thanks for that. I will speak to a dealer and see if it fits and if so, just use these measurments and have one made at a fraction of the price of the aftermarked zodiac goods.

Had a backrest made for the previous boat so know a good local company that can do one.

Thanks
__________________
actions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 June 2011, 11:43   #8
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Another option is to use a single post, something over a meter tall. All-around white up top, VHF antenna towards the top, and nav lights (either discrete or a combo red/green) more than meter below the white. Can either weld or hose-clamp little shelves to the post for other things like GPS antennae, etc.


jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 June 2011, 13:08   #9
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyasaki View Post
Another option is to use a single post, something over a meter tall. All-around white up top, VHF antenna towards the top, and nav lights (either discrete or a combo red/green) more than meter below the white. Can either weld or hose-clamp little shelves to the post for other things like GPS antennae, etc.
My idea was better, more complicated yes, but better.
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 June 2011, 21:08   #10
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Channel Ribs View Post
My idea was better, more complicated yes, but better.
Same thing? Sorry...
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.