Old 10 December 2002, 16:27   #1

Town: Dublin.
Boat name: Tender 2.
Make: Valiant DR 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 Optimax
MMSI: coming soon !
A frame !

Time to start spending the money on the toys. I want to get an A frame for my pro 550. Any suggestions please, do I get one made from stainless steel or buy a ready made model. And where do I get them ?
Old 10 December 2002, 17:29   #2

Town: Bromley, Kent
Make: GS209
Length: 6.137
Engine: 4.3ltr 210hp Volvo Penta
Scotty,

Search under gantry or A frame on here, I found a very reasonable company that build to order, details and a photo went on about 7 weeks ago.

Pete

P.S. I found it, it is on the old Rib or Sportsboat thread half way down page 6. I have no personal experience of their work at the moment, but hope to use them soon. Make up your own mind and check them out if that is what you are looking for.
Old 19 December 2002, 11:03   #3
DM
RIBnet supporter

Boat name: Little Wing
Make: Searider 5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: Tohatsu 90
Scotty, if you can't get one locally, try this place. Nautequip Marine, Hartlebury, Worcs. 01299 251005. ask for janet. They do a very nice double A frame, 316g s/s, adjustable for width between 125/220cm. Height 120cm. Also folds forward for transport. 300pounds.

D.M.

P.S. It is very similar to the one on Andre's boat in the cruising section.
Old 19 December 2002, 16:09   #4

Anybody had experience of an 'A' frame destabalising a boat? I have been speaking to Glastron in the USA about getting the best place to have mine sited on my new boat. They told me that they do not recommend them as it could cause handling problems with the boat. They say it was designed as it is sold and that any alterations (e.g. a life raft on an 'A' frame) could destabalise it. I guess if it is just for an aerial and is not heavy that would be OK, but I wanted mine to store stuff on like a roof rack.

Pete
Old 19 December 2002, 16:19   #5
RIBnet supporter

Town: Peel, IOM
Length: no boat
RIBase