Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
RIBase
6-6.5 RIB advice please

Dear all,

I have been running a Zodiac Pro 7 for the last three years around Brittany. We have attempted longer trips in it, and two years ago we even made the voyage to Alderney! (Allbeit by trailering to Cherbourg and launching from there!)

We tend to cruise at 15-25 knots but in anything but flat calm the ride can become very harsh and it has a great tendency to slam down into the water which creates large vibrations, and bounces all our kit around ( especially at the bow where the anchor is stuffed right up against the bottom) so we have begun to look at a replacement.

Round here the only RIB dealers are Zodiac and although this would provide a strong mainenance fallback Pro Open 650s do not get great press on the forum! I think therefore that buying in the UK and either sailing accross and buying a trailer there or trailering on the ferry is going to provide the best bet. The boat will remain on a mooring for most of the year so your thoughts on antifouling are also welcome!

So far I have been lokoing at Ribeye 650Ss this seems to have the sot of setup I am looking for (2 jockeys for me and my son and more comfortable seating for the flleting appearences of my wife!! However the tech spec of the boat seems to suggest that the boat is 6.6m long and round here in ports there is a charging category of 4-6.5 and 6.5-10 do you think the port autorities would allow us into the lower category on merit of the name only being 650?

In France we currently have an old Renault Scenic whose manual says that it can only tow 1300kg whereas the ribeye is 1730 will we need to change car at the same time?

And finally, is it possibly to launch such a boat with a 45 year old and a delinquent 14 yr old!!!??? Would we need to purchase an electric winch???

Many thanks in advance
Old 30 July 2009, 17:08   #2
RIBnet supporter

Town: Hants