Old 12 November 2015, 04:41   #1

Town: Kailua, Hawaii
Length: 7m +
$40K for a 10 yr old Zodiac Medline III???

I am a newbie in the RIB world, though with military experience that has seen the power and versatility of RIBs. I live in Hawaii, and there is a guy on a neighboring island selling what looks like a very nice 2005 Zodiac Medline III with twin 115 Merc Optimax motors, nice Garmin, new trailer, and a few other extras. Does $40K US dollars sound like a lot for such a craft?? I am concerned about the life of the tubes and needing to replace them at a large cost in the short term.

I've talked with a Zodiac dealer in San Diego who says protected tubes can last 15 to 20 years if protected from the sun. Is this true? Could I realistically get 5-10 years out of the tubes yet?? Thanks so much for the advice. Whale watching season is approaching and I want to be ready!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	zodiac 1.jpg
Views:	340
Size:	32.8 KB
ID:	109683   Click image for larger version

Name:	zodiac 2.jpg
Views:	264
Size:	31.3 KB
ID:	109684   Click image for larger version

Name:	zodiac 3.jpg
Views:	284
Size:	29.5 KB
ID:	109685  
Old 12 November 2015, 12:51   #2

Town: S. Carolina
Boat name: D560
Make: Avon
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2016 Merc 115hp CT
Quote:
Originally Posted by weebs74 View Post
I am a newbie in the RIB world, though with military experience that has seen the power and versatility of RIBs. I live in Hawaii, and there is a guy on a neighboring island selling what looks like a very nice 2005 Zodiac Medline III with twin 115 Merc Optimax motors, nice Garmin, new trailer, and a few other extras. Does $40K US dollars sound like a lot for such a craft?? I am concerned about the life of the tubes and needing to replace them at a large cost in the short term.