Old 19 August 2015, 07:53   #1

Town: Woking
Boat name: Hon wave 3.8
Make: Honda
Length: 3m +
Engine: Honda outboard
Rich w

Hello all, just purchased my new honwave 3.8 after much deliberation & research on this site. It's still in the bag & dry so I need to change that as soon as possible! Am planning on buying the 20hp engine to go with it asap & then doing my RYA level 2 course. Lots of questions though, like insurance? Guessing I need it? Also I'm in the south east & want to take the boat as far as I can up the thames & maybe even into London?? Can it be done in a SIB? Thanks all, had a tonne of useful info from these forums already & very much looking forward to starting out on this road. I'm a complete newby to powered boating btw. Done a lot of kayaking but never had a boat under power so this is a whole new world for me.
Old 19 August 2015, 07:59   #2

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
Yep I'd get insurance. For me and many here Craftinsure online are the company of choice. You can get insured at minimal cost (about £50) in minutes and print your own policy/certificate. You don't have to declare the actual boat/outboard make/serial nos just an overall value so if you wanted to get insurance to cover the new Honwave you could guestimate the outboard you're buying.

Are you going new 4-stroke or used 2-stroke?
Old 19 August 2015, 08:13   #3

Thanks for the info & quick reply fenlander, I'm going for the new 4 stroke. I'm planning on taking the girlfriend out on some fairly ambitious trips (once I'm a little less green) so don't want any dodgy engine issues to worry about mid ocean! It's a LOT of money yes but I'd rather buy it once & get a good one..
Old 19 August 2015, 08:24   #4

If you're ok with the cost and weight over the more usual used 15hp 2-stroke for a medium size sib that will make a great combo.

>>>I'm planning on taking the girlfriend out on some fairly ambitious trips