Old 24 April 2011, 20:16   #1

Town: Marlow
Boat name: Nemo
Make: Valiant
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboard
Newbie needs advice - Valiant PT520

Hi all
I'm new to Ribs and have just bought a Valiant PT520 with a 2 stroke 90hp Saltwater Mercury. It has a "Vortex Miwheel 13 x 19" prop on it and with 2 adults on board only does 28 knots, 33mph according to the gps, is this about right guys, I thought it would go faster? the engine runs fine. I've read some of the other posts on speed and it does seem slow for this size/power rib. Also when I tilt the engine it can be tilted so far as to push into the back of the boat, it there a way to limit the amount of tilt? One last question, if you let go of the helm whilst planning it pulls hard to starboard, you have to almost fight with the wheel to keep it straight, its quite dangerous and could throw someone out if caught out. Any sugestions on how to cure this? I'm the 2nd owner, it was bought new from a boat show and towed away from the show, I suspect it has never been set up right, I've had to realign it on it's trailer as it was not sitting anywhere near correctly. I want to get familiar with the Rib and be able to maintain it myself. Like I say I'm new to Ribs and any advice would be much appreciated.
Old 24 April 2011, 21:00   #2
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
I'd suggest an RYA level 2 course where you will learn about trimming the engine for best speed and control for cornering (without fighting the helm).

As for speed it does sound a bit low, which could be a number of things - wrong trim, wrong prop, water in the hull void, engine not getting to max rpm etc. What revs are you getting?
Old 24 April 2011, 21:13   #3

Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 70hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
RIBase