Old 01 October 2018, 14:29   #1

Town: Falmouth
Length: no boat
New to RIBs Buzzards Bay USA Advice Please

Hello this is a great forum thank you for having me. I have been boating for 30 years mostly on Grady Whites but I have never owned a RIB. I just got back from exploring the islands off Croatia on a RIB and have the bug.

So I want to buy a used RIB that I can use to explore Buzzards Bay out to the Elizabeth Islands. The waters up here are VERY choppy but it's not open ocean and I won't intentionally go out in more than 3 foot seas. I can store it on a rack. I would also like to trailer it to Casco Bay Maine and Hilton Head SC.

Mostly I will be zipping around alone standing up. Sometimes I will fish for bass up against the rocks. However on very calm days I could take my wife and a couple of friends. So would like a couple of seats.

My budget is $25K max however I would like to stay below $20K. I don't know if that is realistic for a problem free boat.

May I ask for recommendations of make and models that fit these criteria?

How old would you go if you want to avoid trouble or replacing tubes etc.?

The length options seem to be 4.8 to 7 meters. I know 4.8s are very capable however that might be small to take any guests. I do not want to go bigger than 7M.

There are not as many used RIBs for sale in the US.

So far I have found a 2006 Ribcraft 4.8 and a newer 2013 Zar Formenti 5.3 in my price range. I know Ribcraft have excellent rough water reputations. Reading posts on this forum the Zar is not viewed as rugged but interesting in that it seems to have a deeper V 28 degrees and more creature comforts which are appealing.

Really appreciate any advice and can't wait to get into this!

Thank you in advance. T
Old 01 October 2018, 16:25   #2

Town: CA
Make: Zodiac RIB-P
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki 250