Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 08 February 2015, 14:47   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
New rib members with couple of questions

Hi everyone from Phil & Olly as new joint rib owners and looking forward to getting to grips with all things rib just waiting for my partner in ribbing to get back from exploring the seas around Australia and he has the powerboat level 2 at the moment. Couple of initial questions , no anchor with our rib which is a ribeye 7.2m so I'm thinking 10kilo foldable to fit in anchor locker but how much chain and what weight I have read you should have 1ft per foot of rib is this correct generally coastal Solent waters we are aiming for.

Also the teak effect panels what's the best product to renovate these ?

Any help or pointing in the right direction appreciated. Thanks
__________________

__________________
herbicide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 February 2015, 14:58   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Its more important that your anchor is effective than fits neatly in a locker, and for that reason I'd suggest NOT getting a folding grapnel (if that was your plan). Bruce and Delta are generally the recurring names in confident RIB anchoring here.

I'd be using ~7 m of chain (8mm?) and probably at least 60m of 12 mm rope.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 February 2015, 15:02   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
Thanks poly will do many thanks
__________________
herbicide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2015, 01:50   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
The more chain the better. 10 meters for a 7 meter would be good and still manageable in terms of weight if using 8mm
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2015, 03:49   #5
Member
 
Johnscubanut's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Beds/South coast
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 115
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 294
Agree with that. We have a Bruce anchor, 7kg i believe for our 585m rib. Around the Solent the seabed is mud, sand & shingle. You wouldn't hold very long using a folding grapnel! Use as much chain as practical & same for the rope. We have 5m of smallish chain & 40m of 12mm stowed ready for use, but can add to that if required. But general rule says 3-6 times(depending which book you read) the depth of water in length of rope to lay out which will enable the anchor to lay as flat as possible.
Also worth considering would be a 'Sea anchor'. This is a parachute type thingy made of material, which can be deployed if the water is too deep to anchor in an emergency. It slows down your drift & puts you bows towards the waves. Avoiding being swamped from behind or taking waves from broadside!
Hope this may be of use to you?
__________________
Johnscubanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2015, 03:51   #6
Member
 
Johnscubanut's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Beds/South coast
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 115
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 294
That should read 5.85m rib! I would need a serious anchor to hold a 585m!!!! lol
__________________
Johnscubanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2015, 04:19   #7
Member
 
chris.moody's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Daventry & Beaulieu
Boat name: Tigga2
Make: Ribcraft 4.8
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF50
MMSI: 235900806
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 984
RIBase
I would go with a minimum of two boat lengths of chain, preferably more if the anchor locker will take it. Then add rope so you have at least six times the maximum depth you are likely to anchor in (don't forget to allow for tidal height changes while at anchor).

If you have too much anchor warp it's doing no harm in the locker, but when it's dragging on a lee shore and you don't have any more warp to let out its not a nice feeling.

If you go all chain you can get away with four times maximum depth.

On a rib I like bruce anchors as a general all purpose anchor.

A second smaller anchor is also very useful. I often anchor off the beach using two anchors
__________________
--
Chris Moody
Rib Tigga2 a Ribcraft 4.8 with a Honda BF50
chris.moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2015, 11:27   #8
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Well, to play devil's advocate, the suggestion to use 6 to 7 times the depth in scope comes from larger boats (cabin boats, sailboats) that are overnighting. Long scope ensures that even if the anchor breaks out, the horizontal pull will (probably) allow it to reset.

While more is certainly better in this case, I've very rarely had problems in a RIB using 2 to 3 times depth in scope. This relies on a decent anchor (and one suited for the bottom composition) and a decent length of chain (heavier the better until you can no longer lift it.) It also takes into account a couple of hours on the hook at the most, with someone on board (at least most of the time - boat my be on its own for up to an hour with divers in the water.)

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2015, 15:09   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
Wow thanks guys what a great response now that's what I call a friendly welcome ! That's the anchor sorted on my list
__________________
herbicide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2015, 15:23   #10
Member
 
scubaqua's Avatar
 
Country: Netherlands
Boat name: Scubaqua
Make: Humber Ocean Pro 6.3
Length: 6m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 115
MMSI: 244630361
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 71
RIBase
And don't forget: You have to pull it up every time, so a lot of chain is havy....
I have a 6.3 m Rib with a 8kg anchor and 6m of chain (8mm). There are days that i anchor 5-6 times....and than I am glad that i don't have a chain of 3x boat length...

But i do have 80m of line, never had a problem with dragging with this boat when you let out enough line. That depends on current, waves and wind..
__________________

__________________
scubaqua is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rib

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.