Old 05 July 2017, 17:38   #1

Town: Staplehurst
Boat name: Rib
Make: Humber
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboard
New member wanting to learn

Hello. Whilst being a newbie I have had ribs before but they were kept on my sailing yacht. To be honest I had the most fun with the Rib when I arrived at whoever it was I was going. Example: exploring the Dart after arriving in my yacht was more fun than getting there. Finally the cost of keeping a 15 mtr yacht in a marina finally broke me sold, with some sadness, I sold it. That didn't last long as within a fortnight I had bought a Brig Navigator 5:7 mtr Rib and it's awesome! Plus I can tow it home and polish, clean and fiddle to my hearts content. This Rib is going to have just as much kit on it as I can fit ( pilot for 40 years so I love things to fiddle with).

But, I need a challenge. I was quite adventurous with the yacht and I really love the mental stimulation of learning so I want to get my commercial ticket. I have a day skipper (yacht) theory and practical, and lots of sea miles under my belt.

So. To enhance the enjoyment of the new Rib I want the challenge of learning.

Can anyone recommend a way that I can learn and build experience, preferably in my own Rib, with an organisation that cares about what they turn out rather than the sausage machine approach?

I am not looking for a career but I want to become the best I can be and I relish the challenge. Like in flying I might even want to become an instructor just to share the knowledge and sheer delight in doing something really well.

Happy to receive all suggestions and recommendations. I am a RYA member. Have been for a long time.

Thanks John aka, Snelly
Old 05 July 2017, 18:06   #2

Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Excel 435
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
RIBase
Hello John