Old 24 July 2013, 22:49   #1

Jet rib advice for a novice

Hello, I'd really appreciate some advice from people who know what they are talking about

I'm looking for an alternative to a jet ski so that I can take my partner and 2 kids out on the water to 'play', have some fun and generally potter about/tow a water skier etc. I've been looking at Avon Sea Sport 320 Jet Ribs (2004 approx £4k in price) and i've also found a Novurania-500-lp-turbo-diesel-rib.

I've found a few videos on you tube and they look great fun but I'd appreciate views, pros/cons, suggested alternatives etc.

Thanks in advance.
Old 24 July 2013, 23:21   #2

Length: under 3m
Engine: 10HP Merc
Im no expert and only have experiance of a Halmatic Pacific 32, nightmare to keep in a straight line at slow speed, but can be done with experiance, I believe the same is true for most jet drives.
Old 24 July 2013, 23:30   #3

Thanks for this - useful to know and to ask about when making buying enquiries.
Old 24 July 2013, 23:34   #4
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Quote:
Originally Posted by upton68 View Post
Hello, I'd really appreciate some advice from people who know what they are talking about
welcome - you might be in the wrong place though for knowledgable advice!
Quote:
I'm looking for an alternative to a jet ski so that I can take my partner and 2 kids out on the water to 'play', have some fun and generally potter about/tow a water skier etc. I've been looking at Avon Sea Sport 320 Jet Ribs (2004 approx £4k in price) and i've also found a Novurania-500-lp-turbo-diesel-rib.

I've found a few videos on you tube and they look great fun but I'd appreciate views, pros/cons, suggested alternatives etc.

Thanks in advance.
Do you have a particular reason for focussing on jet ribs rather than traditional outboards?