Old 06 July 2014, 21:43   #1

Few questions for trip to Pentewan, Cornwall

Hi. I'm relatively new to SIBing and new to this forum so hello!! - have a few questions re my up and coming trip to Pentewan Sands in Cornwall. I have a Seapro (:-/) although so far so good, with 30hp mariner 2 stroke.

1) As using in the sea should the engine be flushed after each use or can I flush it when I get back home (after 7 days) my guess is it's every use and if so does anyone know of the facilities regarding fresh water hose etc (have called them a few times but no one in main office seems to know much about the launch facilities)

2) also wanted to invest in VHF radio with GPS etc but haven't had time to purchase and do course etc - can anyone recommend a decent app for iPhone 5 that's worth using. Not planning on going far but feel I need something.

Any advice would be much appreciated!! Thanks
Old 06 July 2014, 22:13   #2

Town: north ayrshire
Boat name: charlie girl
Make: S/R5.4/regal3760
Length: 10m +
Engine: Suzukidf70 2x6lp 315
We had many good holidays with our rib at Pentewan realy nice spot
There used to be a hose on the slip for flushing but like most camp sites there are standpipes everywhere so if you take a length of hose & muffs then you should be fine
Personally I'd just give it a good flush on the last day the salt won't crystallise from one day to the next & your engine won't rot out in a week
An excellent spot & I'm sure you'll love it
Old 07 July 2014, 05:44   #3

Many thanks BeamishKen. As you say it's a great spot, been there a few times camping but first time with boat - so really looking forward to it.
Old 07 July 2014, 06:04   #4

Town: Gloucestershire
Make: Solent
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 70