Old 16 September 2019, 04:59   #1

Town: Bellingham, WA
Boat name: T/T Belafonte
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda 9.9
Zodiac mark III repair

I’m relatively new to Sibs, and acquired an old 14 foot zodiac mark III that you all were kind enough to help identify for me! It was stored in a basement most of its life before given to me, so fabric, floor boards, and transom are all in pretty solid shape! I used the boat all season last year and filled my freezer full of crab, but alas, it seems that the glue is starting to give up in certain places. Most notably on one of the tube seams in the starboard bow. I’ve tried to do some glueing in the past, using some two part hypalon glue from weaver, and I couldn’t get it to work for the life of me. I sanded the area, and cleaned with toluene, but I just didn’t get good results at all. It’s possible I didn’t get the ratio of Hardener right, but it was very thick and hard to coat. Now that I’m looking at gluing a whole seam, I’m pretty nervous about getting it right. Now I’m looking at another two part hypalon glue that NRS sells made by Clifton, as well as some 2.5 inch wide pennel orca seam tape (hypalon equivalent). My plan is to glue the seam, then back it, and all the existing seams up with the seam tape. They’re still holding air, and I really don’t think I have the wherewithal to re glue the whole thing. am I correct that it is hypalon? Any help or suggestions would be appreciated!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-0262.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	142.2 KB
ID:	130813   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-0766.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	177.6 KB
ID:	130814  
Old 16 September 2019, 17:55   #2

Town: California
Make: zodiac futura
Quote:
Originally Posted by lazsecure View Post