Old 24 September 2017, 18:12   #1

Town: Faget Abbatial
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: oars
Zodiac 2250 Hypalon cone replacement

Hi, I have saved an old hypalon Zodiac 2250 from the 1970's from the dump. The rubber cone on the back of the port tube is dead. I have sourced new cones but does anyone have any experience replacing cones? Looks like a tricky job. I have no experience of repairing hypalon. Any tips?
Also does anyone have experience of the valves of that period which seem to fill the side tubes and the bow tube at the same time which you turn to "navigation" to lock them off. Maybe this is standard but I am new to sibs.
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Port_tube_end_cone.jpg
Views:	252
Size:	144.7 KB
ID:	121985   Click image for larger version

Name:	Port_filling_valve.jpg
Views:	368
Size:	76.1 KB
ID:	121986  
Old 24 September 2017, 18:16   #2

Town: S. Carolina
Boat name: D560
Make: Avon
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2016 Merc 115hp CT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oilystairs View Post
Hi, I have saved an old hypalon Zodiac 2250 from the 1970's from the dump. The rubber cone on the back of the port tube is dead. I have sourced new cones but does anyone have any experience replacing cones? Looks like a tricky job. I have no experience of repairing hypalon. Any tips?
Also does anyone have experience of the valves of that period which seem to fill the side tubes and the bow tube at the same time which you turn to "navigation" to lock them off. Maybe this is standard but I am new to sibs.
Thanks
The cone will take a professional to replace.

The valves though, you just need some zodiac z2846 inserts and z2847 caps.

For approximate adjustment of the intercommunciating valve cup, seat the nut, then back it off by two turns.
office888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 September 2017, 19:02   #3