Old 15 December 2008, 21:31   #1

Town: newcastle
Make: excel
Length: 4m +
which material should i choose

hello im a newbie here looking for advice on the material used on many of the sibs, is pvc sib suitable for 4 divers ive got my eye on quicksilver hd 380/430 i need your help here,im off to the boats show in january to see them in the flesh before i buy thanks in advance
Old 15 December 2008, 22:31   #2

Town: Lima-Peru
Boat name: Nautile
Make: Sea Rider 450 Rib
Engine: Tohatsu 5/18/30 HP
Quote:
Originally Posted by webber View Post
hello im a newbie here looking for advice on the material used on many of the sibs, is pvc sib suitable for 4 divers ive got my eye on quicksilver hd 380/430 i need your help here,im off to the boats show in january to see them in the flesh before i buy thanks in advance
If only will be used during summer, not heavyly used all year round, buy any heavy duty 420/430 aluminum floor PVC sib to suit your needs, Hypalon is very expensive, let pros/cons wallet decide. Mercury/Quicksilver are good alternative priced boats. Ask Quicksilver if PVC heavy duty boats is same material as used on standard sibs in terms of material thickness, maybe 0.9 mm standard one, 1,1 mm heavy duty one. Would be advisable a thicker fabric on heavy duty ones. A 380 is too small for 4 divers + gear. Get a nice 30 HP engine.

Happy Sibbing
Old 15 December 2008, 22:31   #3

Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
I'm sure PVC will be fine but I'm not so sure about 4 divers and their kit in a 3.8mtr sib. I sounds a little cosy to me.
Old 15 December 2008, 22:43   #4
RIBnet admin team

Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker View Post
I'm sure PVC will be fine but I'm not so sure about 4 divers and their kit in a 3.8mtr sib. I sounds a little cosy to me.
4+cox in a 430 is going to be pretty snug too